Search
< Back to Product

Basement Watchdog BW4000 Combo Sump Pumps Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$369.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$369.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$369.00
(as of 06:07 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$399.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$387.50
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Basement Watchdog BW4000 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Pros
Features (4)
Easy To Use (4)
Quiet (2)
Price (2)
Light Weight (1)
Cons
Expensive (3)
Unreliable (2)
Instructions Unnecessari... (1)
Messing With Battery Aci... (1)
Messing (1)
67% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
19 Reviews  Sort by 
 
David K.
Hoffman Estates, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/6/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dual Combo Sump Pump From Watchdog
The installation was fast and the pump is quite. I'm going to upgrade my home set up with the dual combo. This system was for my parents home. Why pay a pro, do it yourself.
David Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
David,
We thank you for taking the time to review our products and appreciate your feedback.
more
David's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great customer service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Howard L.
Elmhurst, IL
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
02
2016
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Bad Main Pump, Horrible Battery & Bad Pipe Connection
I did not purchase this system from SPD but from the local store because I have to have the battery backup system right on the spot and thought this is the perfect system for what I need. It is very easy to install and very clean system except about a year or so later and found out the secondary pump was activated for no reason. Turned out, the main pump was rusted around the lower portion of the body and there are at least 2-3 dime size holes around it.

For something that is only about 1.5... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Features
Cons: Expensive, Low Quality, Unreliable
Howard Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Howard,
We are very sorry to hear of your negative experience with our BW4000 system. All our pumps are anodized to prevent corrosion. It's rare to have that kind of corrosive buildup on the pump that you describe. As for the battery, we recommend checking the fluid level inside of it every 6 months or so. You are correct that the low fluid alarm should come on prior to it getting that low. I would suggest calling our service team as they will help you with all the issues you are describing. Even if your system is out of warranty we are here to help and will take everything into consideration. We appreciate all our customers and will do our best to make this right for you. I know you mentioned your dislike of dealing with customer service departments but I think you will find a different experience when speaking with us. We can be reached at 800-991-0466 option 3 9-5 central time Monday through Friday or feel free to email us service@glentronics.com
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Takashi O.
Commerce, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/4/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
26
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good But Short Life
Work great and quiet but main pump dead in two years. Sumppump direct do not take responsibility for two year warranty and I give up to contact Watchdog directly since I need new pump immediately. I bought another one from Sump Pumps Direct again, I hope it works longer this time.
Pros: Easy To Use, Features, Quiet
Cons: Durability, Short Main Pump Life
Takashi Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Takashi,
Thank you for your review. We do recommend that if you have any questions or concerns about the system you call us directly. WE like to help our customers immediately and we are always happy to answer your questions as well. You can contact us M-F 9-5 CST AT 800.991.0466 Ext 3 for tech support
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Al
California, MD
REVIEWED
MAR.
07
2012
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Not A Good System
First of all I've had this system in my house since September last year 2011, I am currently on my 3rd pump!! If you have a crock that fills up with a lot of water during a rain storm THIS SYSTEM IS NOT FOR YOU!!! This system has in my opinion a very serious design flaw, the float switches are not long enough. Meaning that the pump will cycle on and off far too many times during a storm, leading to a pump failure and a flooded basement. This is suppose to be the best system they sell but... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Al,
We are sorry that you are not satisfied with this system. Please keep in mind that if the pump is kicking on too often the floats are adjustable and can be mounted at the desired height so that the pump will cycle more efficiently. As stated in your review we are always willing and ready to help our customers and we guarantee top notch customer service.
more
Was this review helpful?
50
Barry M.
Akwesasne, NY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/15/15
REVIEWED
APR.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Incredibly Easy Set-up
I live in a low lying area and if my sump-pump is not working, or if the power goes out (as it often does where I live) then my basement will flood. Over the past 20 years I have had to change the pump at least every 3 - 4 years. I also had to purchase a generator to ensure that my pump will be able to run during outages. I've been looking at various back-up pumps over the years, and finally decided to bite the bullet and purchase one.

I read the instructions and I viewed the video online... more
Pros: Easy To Use, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Install
Cons: Expensive, Had To Purchase Battery And Acid Separately
Barry Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Barry,
Great! Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Mark
Chalfont, PA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/24/11
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
SEP.
14
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Highly Recommend
I just installed the Basement Watchdog sump pump unit prior to hurricane Irene and thankfully I only had a small amount of water in my sump pump well.

The following week my area in PA got another 7" of rain from the tropical storm Lee and again the pump only turned on a few times to empty the sump pump well.

I am not able to provide any long term use report, but I am very happy with this unit. It is well made and it was easy to install and I am glad that I got the battery backup... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mark,
Thank you so much for your review. Also thank you for highlighting the fact that we stand behind our customers as well as behind our products. We are always willing and ready to help with whatever we can. We appreciate your feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Wayne H.
Grand Manan, ME
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/19/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfied Canadian
Piggy back bracket broken in shipping. Say that 5 times fast.
Wayne Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Wayne,
Thank you for your recommendation of our products. We apologize for the damage caused in shipping but we are happy Power Equipment Direct was able to resolve that for you quickly. We appreciate your business.
more
Wayne's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This company is a rare find as far as I am concerned. I am Canadian and I ordered this sump pump to come to an American address because they do not ship to Canada, this is the only fault I have. However when the item arrived at the address, one of the brackets that holds the piggy back pump was broken. I figured this would be a huge problem because I would have to drive over 100 miles to get to my American address. When I called the 800 number I was very surprised to talk to a real person who seemed very concerned and knowledgeable about my problem. He took my Canadian address and shortly after it arrived on my doorstep by courier at no cost to me. Little things like this are certainly appreciated by its customers and are few and far between now days. The pump system is now hooked up but we haven't had any rain storms to try it out. The pump runs so quietly it is hard to hear standing beside it. I know I am going to love this pump. It is 100% better than the one I had before. Merry Xmas Everyone"
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Jeff G.
Kansas City, MO
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Main Pump
The main pump is aluminum cast. Aluminum in case you don't know reacts poorly with more than one mineral that can be in your soil. So my experience has been a main pump self destructing about every six months or maybe a little longer.

Very poor design. I informed Watchdog but they don't seem to care, in fact they acknowledge the possibility.
Jeff Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jeff,
I am sorry for your experience with our product and any inconvenience that this may have caused. Please call us at 800.991.0466 at ext 3 and we will certainly assist you. It is never our custom to not care about our customer concerns. We will be more than happy to provide you with detailed information on how we can further assist you. Please contact us through email if you are wanting someone to call you directly at service@glentronics.com
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Chris
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/27/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
31
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Deal, Easy Install, Quick Shipping
I ordered this Sunday night and received it Wednesday morning. I picked up the Basement Watchdog brand battery and acid at Lowes for about half the price of buying the acid/battery combo here. I am guessing it has something to do with the added cost of them shipping hazardous materials. If you buy the empty battery from SPD, it is the same price as at Lowes. The battery acid was around $15-20. I checked on buying a wet battery from batteries plus, but it only saved me about $35. I just figured... more
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Price
Cons: Messing, Messing With Battery Acid
Chris Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Chris,
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your feedback. Please contact us directly in the future if you are ever in need of assistance with the product @ 800.991.0466 Ext 3 for Tech Support M-F 9-5CST
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Soji
REVIEWED
FEB.
23
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Bad Product
This product has been giving me trouble since I bought it. I have changed the battery twice b/c it stayed beeping indicate the battery need distilled water. Unfortunately the battery part is not working any more. But I don't know if I can buy any other back up system to work it.
Pros: Price
Cons: Unreliable
Soji Does Not Recommend This Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Soji,
This systems is backed up by a 2-year warranty. If you are beyond the warranty period, you can use another backup system with that primary pump. Any of the DC systems should work fine and you should be able to use most of the existing plumbing.

Here you can find all of our Battery Backup Sump Pumps
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Soji,
Thank you for taking the time to review the BW4000 product. We would like to let you know that if the fluid sensor is indicating that the battery needs more water in a fully filled battery, it is usually not due to a malfunction with the controller but just a simple mistake as into how or where the sensor is placed. The sensor does need to be in a specific location in the battery in order to read the levels of fluid correctly. Please give us a call directly and our support staff can walk you through trouble shooting this problem. This is a quick fix. We would love to help you so that you can be assured that your system is working properly. Please contact us at 800.991.0466 Ext. 3 for technical support.
more
Was this review helpful?
11
Narasimha K.
Bloomfield Hills, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/27/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Package Of Pumps...but...
(Just installed it) Like the ready to install package with dual float protection. Sounds very smooth and quiet. But I'm not thrilled with the 'value' part of it because one can buy separate pumps and battery b/u unit or a small inverter package and still end up $100 to 150 dollars less. I paid for avoiding the headache of custom plumbing with Y joint, separate check valves, etc.
Pros: Features, Quiet, Light Weight, Convenient Package Of Main And Bu Pumps
Cons: Expensive, Instructions Unnecessarily Verbose
Narasimha Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Narasimha,
Thank you so much for your review of our Big Combination system. We really appreciate your feed back
more
Narasimha Would Recommend Sump Pumps Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy to order. Shipped and received promptly and quickly. Professionally packaged and protected shipment!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Dave
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/5/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
13
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy So Far
I installed the Big Dog Combination on Saturday, four days ago, so I can't speak to longevity yet. But what I can speak to is ease of installation and customer service.

First, installation was a breeze. Instructions were clear and complete, and my installation went very smoothly and came out neat and pretty.

Second, Sump Pumps Direct customer service. I ordered this pump November 5th and it was at my door November 7th. I couldn't be happier.

Third, Glentronics' customer service. I used... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Dave,
Thank you so much for your consideration of our products. We also would like to thank you for contacting us directly and allowing us to help remediate your problem. We are always ready to help our customers. We know that you will be satisfied to years on end.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Carol
Kansas City, MO
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/28/11
REVIEWED
DEC.
19
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Company & Product
We received in the pump system in 2 days, and since the old pump was acting up we were happy to see that it was here so fast. Was very easy to install. Very happy with company.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Carol,
Thank you very much for your review. We appreciate your business.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Adam
La Plata, MD
REVIEWED
NOV.
26
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ready For The Next Irene Or Power Loss....whichever Comes First!
Okay, so I had a basement watchdog backup in my hand back in January of this year. I put it back on the shelf thinking that I'd wait until 'later' when I may actually need it. Well, 'later' came in August in the form of Irene. After losing power, and hence my sump pump, Irene felt the need to flood our finished basement. Our basement is now back to normal with my BW4000 standing guard. My BW4000, Sumppumpsdirect, and the installation video are all AWESOME!!! Don't be like me and wait... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Adam,
Thank you for trusting in our products to help keep your basement dry, we know that you will not be disappointed.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Matthew
Lutherville, MD
REVIEWED
SEP.
25
2011
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Watch The Installation Video
I purchased the Basement Watchdog BW4000 (primary and backup combo) and installed it myself. The installation video is very helpful (aside from the really annoying music), but chances are your installation will not go as smoothly. I have a radon vent fit into my sump and that complicated installation (not accounted for in the installation video). If you have basic plumbing skills you'll be ok, but even if you don't have a radon vent in your sump, don't kid yourself - installation will take... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Matthew,
Thank you for your review and your advice on watching the installation video. Below is a link for anyone reading this review that would like direct access to this video. Installation Videos
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert
Hampton, VA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/23/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
13
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just In Time
Sump Pumps Direct got this to me a day before hurricane caused flooding issues. Unit worked perfectly. I appreciate what has proved to be excellent customer service from Sump Pumps Direct.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Robert,
Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve
Avon, OH
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/31/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
21
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Sump / Great Service
I ordered my combo sump pump during wrath of Sandy. We lost power for a few hours and my old water backup stopped working so I was concerned, to say the least.

I ordered my pump the next day, and it shipped standard ground and arrived at my door by noon the following day. Thanks so much for the wonderful customer service.

I will definitely be a return customer and will share my experience with others.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Steve,
Thank you for thinking of us when times were though. We know of many people that saved their basements by having Basement Watchdog products in their homes and we are happy that we were able to assist so many.
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Ghillieman
Nanjemoy, MD
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/7/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Who Let The Dogs Out?
Pet dogs sometimes make a watery mess on floors. Even a good watchdog has accidents. They all require training, bonding time and plenty of food to keep them strong and healthy.

But there is one watchdog that I just placed in our basement that for the most part I can leave unattended and know that he will not leave a mess on the floor. He even trains a smaller dog to back him up when necessary.

We have two separate, independent sump pumps in our large basement. While neither one had a... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ghillieman,
Thank you so much for your fun and detailed review. We really appreciate your trust in our products and company. We know that you will not be disappointed. On another note aren't you glad that no potty training is necessary.
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Greg
Flemington, NJ
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/6/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
28
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Combo Basement Watchdog
Fortunately I haven't had to test this unit as I could have used during Hurricane Irene but installation was easy & instructions were very clear. The whole system seems well designed & sturdy & in testing manually, ( haven't had a lot of rain since the hurricane!) pumps were strong & much better than my original system. I am confident now that this system will protect my basement even when no one is home or while sleeping & gives piece of mind.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Greg,
Thank you for your consideration of our pumps. We appreciate your feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials