Your Cart @ Sump Pumps Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
   Search
Priority Shipments @ Sump Pumps Direct View All In-Stock Pumps View Transit Times
< Back to Product

Basement Watchdog BWD-HWA Alarms Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
$14.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$14.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$25.57
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$17.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Basement Watchdog BWD-HWA Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (3)
Exceeded Expectations (2)
Price (2)
Easy To Store (1)
Durable (1)
Cons
Dependability (1)
Unreliable (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
14 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Edward B.
Fisherville, KY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/25/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
FEB.
29
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Watchdog Alarm
The alarm went off two weeks ago when the sump pump was unplugged by accident. It saved me a lot of money. It is very loud and well worth the money. Easy to install.
Edward Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Edward,
Awesome testimonial! This is great to hear. Thank you so much for your feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
06
Michael C.
Danville, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/7/16
Total Reviews
4 Reviews
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Seems To Be A Good Device
Seems to be very loud like a smoke alarm. Haven't used it other then test , install was easy. Only thing is wish there was better way to secure the sensor ,secured it wit zip ties through the secure holes in sensor but when securing it to pipe kind of smashes the sensor wire.
Michael Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Michael,
You could try mounting the sensor on a bracket/pipe clamp.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Michael,
Thank you for your review. If this does not work for you please give us a call and one of our customer support staff can walk you through some other options. We are available M-F 9-5 CST AT 800.991.0466 EXT 3
more
Was this review helpful?
06
John K.
Gobles, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/23/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
16
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Sump Pump Alarm
Exactly what I was expecting to get.
John Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
06
Mark
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
17 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
09
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Water Alarm Worth Every Penny
I had some water issues and resolved them all with rain gutter cleaning, grading and sump pump replacement. As a precaution I purchased three competitor water alarms from another website. They worked but were almost inaudible unless in the same room. I tried the Basement Watchdog and was extremely impressed! Very loud, almost as loud as a smoke detector. I have several of these around the home and have purchased several for friends. Highly, highly recommended and no I don't have stock in this... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Mark,
Thanks for your consideration of our products. We really appreciate your feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
1610
Ray
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
14 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
06
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Woke Me Up!
The alarm worked, and was loud enough to wake me up when water reached the top of the crock due to power failure from "SANDY".

The only problem was trying to keep up with bailing the water in the candle light. DIDN'T WORK. I just ordered a Basement Watchdog Special Backup. I'm planning to get a backup for my primary pump and possibly a small gas generator as well.

My wife and I sat on the stairs and watched the water rise as our personal items floated by. Don't take the... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ray,
We thank you for your review. We know that once you order your backup you will have lots of relief in knowing that we will help keep your basement dry.
more
Was this review helpful?
149
Robert M.
Kirkersville, OH
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/15/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
05
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sump Pump Alarm
Tested it, and it works fine. Will do what I need it to do, very good.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Robert Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Robert,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
97
Demetrius N.
Somerset, NJ
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/10/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Like A Charm
A hose came loose in the middle of the night, woke everyone up immediately. Glad I purchased this item.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Demetrius Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Demetrius,
We are absolutely happy to keep making customers happy with our water alarms.
more
Was this review helpful?
15
Don D.
Framingham, MA
REVIEWED
MAR.
07
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
No Way To Know If Its Working
There should be a switch or button or some way to manually monitor the battery thereby knowing if the battery is low. If low, a light would come on when the test button is pressed. This is why I have indicated dependability and reliability as a CON.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, Easy To Store
Cons: Unreliable, Dependability
Don Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Don,
This is just your basic, no-frills, alarm. You'll typically find features such as the one you described on more expensive alarms.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Don,
Thank you for your review. We will definitely take your request into consideration. It is recommended that you change out the battery approximately every 24 months to insure that the battery will operate the alarm properly. Please give us a call directly if you have any questions at 800-991-0466 at Ext. 3 to reach a technical support assistant directly
more
Was this review helpful?
26
Sam
Lowell, IN
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/18/11
REVIEWED
JAN.
09
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Basement Watchdog
I'm very disappointed with this purchase. In testing the unit I find that the alarm is barely audible, and can probably be heard only if I am within a couple of feet of the unit.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Sam,
We are sorry that you are not satisfied with the alarm on this unit. This alarm should is sound at 110 Decibels, so if you cannot hear it please call us directly so that we can help you. You can reach us at 800-991-0466 Ext 3 For Technical Support.
more
Was this review helpful?
610
Jamie G.
Saegertown, PA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/19/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
DEC.
02
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Seems Adequate.
Tested it out, and it works in water or even with the moisture from your fingers on the sensor. The alarm seems fairly loud.

Didn't test it through my block wall in my crawl space, but if the battery keeps it going for 3 days as it says, I'm sure it would be noticed. It seems just a little softer than a standard smoke alarm.
Jamie Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Jamie,
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your consideration of our products.
more
Jamie's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Good experience. Fast service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
27
Dumont F.
Deltona, FL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/10/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Job
The product was found easily, price was fine, timely shipping, arrived in good shape and installed easily per instructions. What more can a customer want?
Dumont Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Dumont,
Thank you so much for your review. We are happy to keep our customers satisfied. Please give us a call if you need anything 800.991.0466 Ext. 3 for technical support
more
Was this review helpful?
27
Tim S.
New Wilmington, PA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/18/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Performance Plus
I installed this pump with ease and it has worked great! The only complaint would be that the housing corroded after a little more than 1 year and the pump did not draw the water down to the limit depth. This was remedied very quickly with a phone call and a free replacement pump was on it's way.
I have the total watchdog system with battery backup and alarm.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Tim,
Thank you for your 5 star review
more
Was this review helpful?
49
Robert M.
Cumming, GA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/30/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
I placed this on the lid of the ejector pit. If the pump fails or loses power I'll know it!
Robert Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Robert,
We thank you for your review of our product and appreciate your business.
more
Was this review helpful?
17
Ryan
Fort Wayne, IN
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/24/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Upgraded Pump System
I upgraded from a HydroMatic 1/4 HP to this 1/2 HP Liberty Pump. This pump is heavy and extremely quiet. After installing the controller, I was adding water to my sump well to adjust the pump ON time. While waiting for the pump to turn on and still adding water, the water level started to drop rapidly. I didn't even hear the pump kick on and that was the purpose of adding water to the well. So, I had to try again. This time I held onto the pipe to "feel" when the pump kicked on.more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ryan,
We know that you will be satisfied with this water alarm. Thank you for your review.
more
Was this review helpful?
17
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials