Your Cart @ Sump Pumps Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
   Search
Priority Shipments @ Sump Pumps Direct View All In-Stock Pumps View Transit Times
< Back to Product

Basement Watchdog SPD-DFK-961KIT Combo Sump Pumps Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Freight
$589.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$589.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Basement Watchdog SPD-DFK-961KIT Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (5)
Features (5)
I'd Buy It Again (4)
Reliable (3)
Price (2)
Cons
Durability (3)
Expensive (3)
Unreliable (3)
Low Quality (2)
Easily Jams (1)
63% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
15 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Bill
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/31/11
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Survived Hurricane Sandy
I had to post a review after the first big test for my Basement Watchdog system.

I installed this after my basement flooded during Hurricane Irene last year. My old pump couldn't pump the water out faster than it was filling in, then power went out, leaving our basement totally flooded.

When Hurricane Sandy hit, my pump had no problem clearing the sump. . . and then when the power went out, my battery backup took over.

My big question was, how long would this work before the... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Bill,
We are happy that we were able to help de-stress your life just a little bit. Thank you for giving us a tremendous opportunity and trusting in our company and products. We thank you for your kind words and consideration of our pumps.
more
Was this review helpful?
30
Justin K.
Carrington, ND
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/5/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
This Is A Nice Piece!
I bought this after re-doing all of my sump lines going outside from a garden hose hookup to 1.5" PVC line. I dug in line out to the curb and ran a secondary to the drain in the house. The installation process was a breeze--make sure you read through the instructions first online before you receive it and get an understanding of everything. This will make your life way easier. After getting my line done up to the sump, it was time to set it in the hole.

The quality seems very good--I... more
Pros: Features, Quiet, Reliable, Easy To Store
Cons: Expensive
Justin Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Justin,
We would like to thank you for bragging about us, we really appreciate your detailed review and comments. Thank you for recommending our Pumps!
more
Was this review helpful?
20
Terrill S.
Detroit, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/17/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
25
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Now I'm At Ease
I had just put a new sump pump in and Detroit Had its great Flood. On the Highway cars were under water. I was going to buy a generator for 4 thousand dollars so if my power went off my pump would still work. A friend of mine did that and the power went out and the sump pump he had went out due to age and he still got flooded. I decided to get the dual sump pump basement watchdog. Now I feel better. I have a portable generator but my main concern was the flooding if power went off. I'm... more
Pros: Quiet, Features, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Terrill Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Terrill,
Thank you for your review. We are always happy to assist our customers.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Eileen Woodworth
Chapman, KS
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/2/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
10
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Little Costly But Worth Every Penny!!!
Purchased this when my basement flooded due to an unnessary power outage.
The pump beeps when the power is off which is a good thing!
Great investment for a peace of mind during the rainey season.
Pros: Quiet, Features, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable
Cons: Expensive
Eileen Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Eileen,
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you like the audible alarm feature when your power is out. We know that this is a very important feature for many people.
more
Eileen's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipping was super quick! I ordered online which in my opinion is the quickest."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
John
Leominster, MA
REVIEWED
NOV.
11
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
We lost power up in the Northeast recently and my new pump ran on battery for three days without an issue. The alarm sounded right away and the pump was very active during the three day outage.
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
John,
Thank you for your review. We really appreciate your feedback.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Lennart F.
Atlantic Highlands, NJ
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/1/11
REVIEWED
FEB.
09
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Garbage
I bought this unit after being flooded. The battery lasted one year, $100.00+ to replace, so It was not replaced. I trusted the main pump.
The hot water heater broke and the main pump did not work, the whole basement got flooded. The system was 2.5 years old.
So I am $500.00 in hole. STAY AWAY FROM THIS SYSTEM
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability, Expensive
Lennart Does Not Recommend This Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Lennart,
We are sorry for your terrible series of events with the water heater breaking. We ask that you please do not discount the Backup pump system, since it still may be working properly and may need some maintenance to the battery. We would also like to clarify that this system is intended for a basement sump pit situation in which ground water is coming in and the system can evacuate that. We would not recommend that our system is used to clear water from a broken water heater and this may have been why the primary could not keep up. Please call us directly if you need further assistance in trouble shooting. You can reach us at 800-991-0466 Ext. 3 for technical support.
more
Was this review helpful?
22
Karen G.
Bloomington, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/14/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good!
The sump pump died, so we had to replace it. My husband and I got a quote from a local plumber, and they wanted to charge us big bucks!!

We did some homework and found good reviews on the Watchdog sump pumps. We ordered from Sump Pumps Direct, and it was here in no time...with great prices!

It was easy to install, and works like a dream. As far as durability, only time will tell, but the pump works perfect right now.
Pros: Features, Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Karen Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Karen,
Thank you for your pleasant review. We know that you won't regret your choice of picking this combo pump system.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Franklin V.
Thurmont, MD
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/3/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
05
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Basement Watchdog 1/3 Hp Combination Primary & Backup System
Great product and easy to install. It's nice not to have to worry about power outages and a sump pump not working when you need it.
Pros: Features, Quiet, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Franklin Recommends This Basement Watchdog Product
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Franklin,
Thank you for reviewing our product. We are pleased that we are able to help you feel secure knowing that our pumps will take care of keeping your basement dry.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
David B.
Sharonville, OH
REVIEWED
OCT.
07
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Didn't Last 2 Years
The system started to beep and indicated that the back-up pump had been activated. When I check the main pump I found the the pump case had almost completely corroded. Thankfully the battery back-up was able to run long enough for me to replace the complete unit. The unit was less than two years old. Seems a sump pump should be able to tolerate water, this unit did not.
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability
David Does Not Recommend This Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
David,
If you have a high mineral content in the soil around you home, this could cause corrosion issues with any pump.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
David,
We are sorry that you did not have a good experience with this system. As David, the product expert mentioned previously, it is certainly true that you can have these problems with any pump if your have high mineral content in the soil around your home. Also we would like to add that we do stand behind our product 100% and are willing and ready assist you if you contact us directly at 800-991-0466 Ext.3 Technical Support.
more
Was this review helpful?
44
Ray
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/20/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAR.
14
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Combination. Primary & Backup
The pump that was in my sump pit had been there for 15 years. It was still working and may have continued for some time but I was aware of the possibility that it could stop at any time. I was aware of the combination pumps available and it sure appealed to me that the battery operated pump would be there in a power outage. After a thorough search of combination pumps available I decided on the SPD-DFK-961 kit.

I was amazed how soon I received the kit after ordering it. I didn't install it... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Ray,
Thank you so much for your review we really appreciate your feedback. We are also glad that you, like many others, benefited from the easy installation feature.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Brian
REVIEWED
SEP.
02
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Install
My existing sump pump has been running on and off for 10 years here in southern Illinois. It runs a lot during the spring and summer here.

Fearing an aging sump pump might fail I began looking at replacement and backup systems. I don't mind DIY projects but this did not really qualify anyway. My wife could have done it and that is saying something. Measuring the old discharge pipe 18 3/4 in off the floor was the hard part.

Anyway, it is in and running, and fully tested. I never had... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Brian,
Thank you so much for your confidence in our product.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert
Apalachin, NY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/3/11
REVIEWED
AUG.
28
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
First Usage
I purchased my pump kit after a wet spring ,vowing to stop getting water in my basement. I never needed it this summer,but when hurricane Irene hit in august, I was impressed! This little system is a monster at getting rid of water. I couldn't be more happy. I have done away with 90% of my wet basement problems. I hope the quality is as good as it looks. I'm putting it to the test as we speak. I would like to write in again after hurricane season.Please keep this pump package on your shelves,as... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Robert,
Great! Thank you so much for your review. We are happy that we were able to help you keep a dry basement. Also, don't worry we will always be here to help you.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert
Apalachin, NY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/3/11
REVIEWED
AUG.
04
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My 1st Basement Watchdog
I purchased this pump kit in the rainy spring and just recently installed it this summer. I have not put it to the test yet but, I have to comment on the quality, features, packaging, easy to follow directions,you name it.

This looks like one of the best pumps I have ever purchased and after 38 years of a wet basement, I may have found the solution. Any one looking for a complete battery back up kit should consider the basement watchdog. P.S. The shipping was great.truly a good company to... more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Robert,
We are glad that you are pleased with our products and the customer support received through SPD. Thank you for your willingness to share.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Wm H.
Northville, MI
REVIEWED
JAN.
15
2010
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
How Would I Update My System?
Do you have someone that installs these in the Northville, MI area? No rush, I'm just looking to update my original system.
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Wm,
If you don't want to wait a year or two, just give the tech support folks at Basement Watchdog a call: (800) 991-0466 Ext.3.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Wm,
We would love to help you. Below we have included a link to installers in Michigan , you can just scroll down the list and find someone near you. Please contact us directly if you need further assistance at 800-991-0466 Ext.3 Michigan Installers
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Craig
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Main Pump Jams Easily
I purchased this system from a big box store for a friends house to replace her 30+ year old Zoeller pump that had a bad switch. I bought this unit based on my previous good experiences with basement watchdog back up pumps.

I installed the pump and it worked excellent for a few cycles. Then I ran water in the utility sink that drains into the pit along with ground water. The pump turned on, made a horrible noise and then stopped. I disassembled the pump and found that sand that was... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight
Cons: Durability, Unreliable, Easily Jams
Craig Does Not Recommend This Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Craig,
Most sump pumps will handle solids from 1/4" to 1/2". The Basement Watchdog will not handle any, as you mentioned. Sand can be very abrasive to a pump's internal parts. Anytime you may be dealing with this type of issue, you might consider raising the pump off the bottom of the basin a few inches or installing another pump.
more
Manufacturer Response
Brand Rep
Craig,
We appreciate your consideration of our product. Please keep in mind that our pumps are designed for indoor sump pits and as Jim states that solids may damage any impellor. Unfortunately it sounds like this may not be the pump for you but thank you for continuing to chose our backups for your home. Please call us directly if you are in need of further assistance at 800.991.0466 Ext 3 for Technical support M-F 9-5
more
Was this review helpful?
14
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials