Your Cart @ Sump Pumps Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
   Search
< Back to Product

HydroCheck HC6000 Switches Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
$69.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$69.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$116.19
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
HydroCheck HC6000 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (5)
I'd Buy It Again (4)
Quiet (2)
Durable (1)
Features (1)
Cons
Expensive (3)
None Known Yet (1)
97% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
31 Reviews  Sort by 
 
John W.
Rochester, MA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/1/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
NOV.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Correction Of Previous Negative Review
I recently wrote a negative review of this product and wish to correct that opinion. The fault (a high electric bill) was not with the product but with the installation. The previous electrician had set the differential between the lo and high incorrectly and the pump was switching on too frequently. We were away for a month and didn't notice. A second electrician installed the switch correctly and it now works exactly as promised. To make a long story short---an excellent product that... more
John Recommends This HydroCheck Product
John's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very helpful staff. I received a courteous and helpful call back from Jim who suggested that the installation be checked."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
John W.
Rochester, MA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/1/15
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
13
2015
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Electrical Bill Went Way Up
A friend, a licensed electrician, installed the hi lo pump switch on our sump pump. The next day we left for a month in Europe. All lights, dehumidifier, etc. were turned off during the month we were away. Just the refrigerator and the sump pump remained on. Upon returning, we received an electrical bill for $240!

For one month with nobody home and most things turned off! Perhaps, the fault was with the installation (switch set for too low a water level in the pit). Will reset the... more
John Does Not Recommend This Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
John,
I'm sorry to hear of the problem you experienced with your HydroCheck Hi-Lo Pump Switch. If you set both of the sensors low with a very small differential, this could cause the pump to operate frequently. Typically, this switch is used to create a longer pumping cycle. Depending on the pump used, cycle frequency and total head lift, I suppose that it could have resulted in a high electric bill, but I would suggest calling HydroCheck tech support at (877) 225-2124 for additional assistance. If you have any other questions or concerns, please don't hesitate to call me.

Sincerely,
Jim Owiecki
Sump Pumps Direct Product Expert
800-710-7499 X125
630-685-0025 - Direct
james@pedstores.com
more
Was this review helpful?
00
James F.
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/3/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
27
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Replacing A Float Switch
Since the float switch with a submersible pump only has about four inches of movement, my pump would constantly cycle on and off. Installing the HydroCheck was a simple way of setting the on/off cycle to the near full capacity of the sump pit, thereby reducing the number of cycles that the pump turns on and off. As others have commented, the flashing red light should be used to indicate a problem instead of for normal operation. I do worry about the lower sensor developing buildup from being... more
James Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jarrod D.
Carbondale, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/20/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
SEP.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just What The Pump Needed!
As others have stated, wanted a way to easily set the on and off points for my sump pump. This has to be the easiest way to accomplish - and likely the most reliable as there are no moving parts to fail. I followed instructions, filled sump pit with hose to simulate heavy rain and worked exactly as described and how I hoped it would. Still waiting on mother nature to put it to the test but I see no problems arising from this product. It is a bit expensive, but how do you put a price on... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Light Weight
Cons: Expensive
Jarrod Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Terry H.
Butler, PA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/26/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works As Promised
Had a pump that was cycling too often as the float had only 4 inches of movement up and down. The electronic switch allows the sump to fill to a higher level which makes the fill-up take longer and the pump stays on longer...pump ran 3 seconds before, which can burn out the pump, and now it runs 18 seconds. The cycle went from 2 minutes to 8 minutes. Big improvement. Ordered a second Hi-Lo switch for a 2nd sump pump we have in the basement.
Terry Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Terry's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great service people, very knowledgeable!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Dennis L.
Green Bay, WI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/16/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hc6000 - Electronic Hi-lo Pump Switch
I was seeking a solution for a sump pump operation at a condo complex in one of the basements of one of the buildings. The pump was constantly operating every minute and a half to three minutes. It would run for five to seven seconds and shut off and start all over. Evidently, the ground underneath has some water issues that are beyond our control. I was trying to prevent a pump failure and reduce the amount of electricity being used by this circumstance. I researched Hydro Check and found the... more
Dennis Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Ron
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/21/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
14
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great So Far..
I bought two of these to replace a pair of (unreliable) foam type level switches. These new switches were very easy to install and so far have performed flawlessly The built-in alarms are not very loud but they're a nice feature to have.

In spite of the initial high cost of these switches, if they save my basement from another flood, it will be money well-spent..
Ron Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Ron's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Fast shipping and a great product."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Roger C.
Danville, IN
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/20/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hc6000 Switches
I needed a compact and adjustable way to control my sump pump. This setup works great, fully adjustable and very compact in my sump pit.
Roger Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Brian B.
Whitesboro, NY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/17/15
REVIEWED
APR.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product!
Bought one six months ago ... Just got around to installing today ...Nothing to it ...Works perfectly ..Tied it to discharge pipe in sump pit ...filled pit with water to test ...Worked like a charm ..Will be ordering another unit..as I have two pumps...Should pay for itself..Pump switches will not wear out..longer run times ...and of course piece of mind..Floats do get stuck ..then you end up with a flood.
Brian Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Arthur M.
Sheboygan, WI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/4/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hydrocheck Hc6000 Recommended
Easy to install, works great, quality. Recommended.
Arthur Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bo V.
Indiana, PA
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product If You Need Your Sump Pump To Work
I bought the first one of these (I have two, one on my primary, and one on my secondary pumps), five years ago after a pump I had burned itself out when the float got stuck in the on position with no water in the hole. I bought it because of the "no moving parts" reliability. That has worked out - the thing is reliable and consistent.

Last week it showed off another of its features. When cycling on, the switch started beeping throughout the pump run. It was indicating... more
Bo Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Was this review helpful?
00
William K.
Naperville, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/29/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
10
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Expensive, But Helpful Upgrade
I recently had to replace an old 1/2 HP Sump pump in my house. I replaced it with a Zoeller M98 1/2 HP pump. The Zoeller was very nice, but with the 5.5" level shutoff, I noticed that during the rains, it would cycle for 4 seconds on, 5 seconds off. My pit is not very large, and I was worried that the pump was going to burn itself out quickly.

Adding the Hydrocheck allowed me to double the shut off level height, so that the Zoeller would run for 8 seconds, and take much longer to... more
William Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeff F.
Ivesdale, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/28/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
I used it to get further draw down on the sump pit when the water was coming in faster than usual.
Jeff Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bruce T.
Gravois Mills, MO
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/10/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Install
The Hydro Check is installed ready to go. Just waiting for the rains. It sounds like it will work. I'll let you know.
Bruce Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael S.
Waterloo, NY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/30/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
21
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great
I purchased all my products from SUMP PUMP DIRECT. I got a new Zoeller submersible pump as back-up, a Watch Dog Alarm. The alarm saved me from flooded basement! Back pump saved me too. Used it while I decided to use old pump with different switch. Old pump is Zoeller 10-12 years old and still pumps great just switch was bad. By-passed switch with HC 6000 and all is well again. This switch is adjustable so I can pump 10 times the water in 1 pump saving electricity, and less wear on pump. I put... more
Michael Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Michael's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Only problem they didn't call back , but they're prices are great and the products are top notch."
 more
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Michael,
We're sorry we weren't able to get back to you. Seeing that your order was placed in late December, there most likely was some staffing issues that resulted in this. Our sincere apologies.
Was this review helpful?
00
Eric S.
Morris, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/30/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
20
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product. Problem Fixer!
Bought this to fix my completely failed grey water effluent pump switch. The pit setup I have is fairly noisy and shuts off with a bit of a bang against the backflow valve. I love the fact that this setup:
a.) Has no moving parts
b.) Has high and low switching which greatly reduces the number of pump on/off cycles. This means less noise for me and very likely a longer pump life!

Because my softener empties into the pit I had to use the high mineral content setup instructions:more
Eric Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Eric's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"Drove to the store to pick this up. We called ahead and they nearly had this waiting for us, only took a few minutes in and out which was great since we were in a hurry. Great job SPD!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Paul
Upstate, NY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/1/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Solution
The HC6000 is THE simple, easy to adjust and precise way to control the upper and lower water level settings - far superior to float, tethered or timed switches, and the probes require little space. This allowed me to position two line-voltage submersible pumps side by side, with one pump as backup by setting the high-level probe of it's switch slightly higher than the primary pump. I still had plenty of room to position a battery backup pump with it's tethered float in my 22" wide sump. more
Paul Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Andrew D.
Ancramdale, NY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/5/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Just What I Needed
Fast shipping and just what I needed to replace my old switch that was discountinued.
Andrew Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David M.
Noblesville, IN
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/24/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Increased Sump Cycle Time
This switch allows me to set the high water level (on) in the sump pit to a higher level and the low water level (off) at a lower level.. Thus increasing the cycle time of the sump. It also eliminates the float switch which would go bad every 4 - 6 months due to 30 second to 2.5 minute cycle times, depending on the rain and water table. I live by a stream and pond. Now I don't have to worry about the float switch burnout problem.
Pros: Easy To Use, Exceeded Expectations, I'd Buy It Again, Decreased Cycle Time Of Sump
Cons: None Known Yet
David Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Was this review helpful?
80
Peter B.
Waterloo, IA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/22/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect
Works like a charm. We had to use a booster pump to keep collapsed drain lines clear till repairs could be made. It was a pain to plug and unplug the pump when needed.

Zip tied the sensor probes to the hose at high and low levels, plugged the pump into the controller and off it went. Kept water under control for over a week. Wish Menards stocked this along with the other HC models. Would have been nice to have this sooner...
Peter Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Paul
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/28/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fine Tune Your Pump
I don't know why I didn't research and purchase one of these years ago... I now have the pump running for 1.5 minutes with a couple hour off cycle. With all the other float switches I've tried this is by far the the best concept and easy to use. I've had it about a month and if it stands the test of time it will prove to be an amazing purchase and well worth the high dollar amount to purchase it!
Pros: Easy To Use, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Paul Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Adam B.
Chaumont, NY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/17/15
REVIEWED
APR.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
I Never Thought It Wod Work.....
I didn't believe for a second that this could/would work. To my surprise it works much better than the traditional float style switches. No float to worry about getting hung up or switch that is submerged in water waiting to fail.

Not to mention it monitors the power usage of the pump so it knows when the pump is about to go and sounds an alarm to let you know. It does everything you need it to and does it well. Worth every penny.
Adam Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Paul
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/4/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fine Tune Your Sump Pump
It's been 9 months since my initial review, and I have them in 2 different houses now. I am happy to say, it is the first time in many years that I don't have to worry about the float switch. They just work and work well!
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Durable, Quiet
Cons: Expensive
Paul Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Peter I.
Royersford, PA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/15/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Excellent Switch
I have purchased 2 of the hc6000 switches for both my sump applications. One sump utilizes an ion 1/2 hp pump that catches house run off and water softener discharge. The other sump utilizes the little giant 8-cbm cast bronze pump that catches house run off and laundry water.

I have both switches set up as per the instructions for pits that catch such water. Both switches have performed flawlessly thus far. The amount of adjustability is endless. You can really tweak the amount of water you... more
Peter Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Brandi L.
Troy, MO
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/26/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Just As Advertised
These are great. Going to order another one for 2nd sump pump. They are super easy to install. In situations where a normal float switch doesn't work correctly, this is just what I was looking for.
Brandi Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Mark
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/10/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Does Exactly What It Is Advertised To Do
The HC6000 is simple to install, and easily adjusted to height. Just snugly zip tie the sensors to the PVC outlet and they'll slide to where you want them, but not move on their own. I now have the pump switching on at exactly the height I want. Plus, being electronic, I would hope it would outlast most float switches.

The one it replaced was cracked after 10 years of use. I coupled this with a Liberty 250 manual pump, and together they make a great combination. My only ever so slight... more
Pros: Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again, Features
Mark Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Was this review helpful?
10
John T.
Washington, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/13/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Switch
This was a replacement for a tether switch. We have a severe water problem. We have fought this for years. This switch works great. I can adjust the water level to what ever I want. If it holds up ( i think it will ) it will be a great asset.

We have 2 sumps for back up reasons. Will see how this does for a while, then order one for the second pump. I am very impressed with its function. Thank you. If any one gets one of these they will not be disappointed. This is on a 1/2 hp pump.
John Recommends This HydroCheck Product
John's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great deal, fast shipping, thank you."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Curtis N.
Baldwinsville, NY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/27/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Stop The Worries!
This product works great. I have a very active sump, with a primary and backup pump, and a couple of alarms. I worry about something hanging up in the float switch. This switch, with no moving parts, has eliminated those worries. It was easy to install, easy to adjust high-low levels, and monitors the current load on the pump motor. I wish I had found this switch years ago!
Curtis Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Ken G.
Louisville, CO
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/29/14
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hydro-check Hc6000 Outdoor Use
Although designed for indoor use, my application required outdoor installation. I enclosed the electrical connections in a weather proof box and it works perfectly. I am purchasing an additional HC6000 for indoor sump connection.
Ken Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Ken's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I called and spoke with Jim. He was very helpful and very knowledgeable about all things sump pump. When I have another need I will most certainly call on him for advice."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Frank M.
Lake Zurich, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/14/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic Product
I sit on a water table and water is always pouring into my sump pit. The other pumps I used with their attached floats were constantly on because I could not adjust the level where I wanted the pump to kick on. This float does the trick.

The water level of where the pump should kick on and off is totally adjustable. Also, easy to install and with no moving parts, it cant' break down. I purchased 2 of these. One for the primary pump and a second for the backup pump.

I set the lower... more
Frank Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Frank's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very knowledgeable staff. They are the ones that turned me onto the Hydrocheck pump switch after I explained my situation."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Maynard J.
Channahon, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/7/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
28
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Hydrocheck Hc6000
This sump pump controller was very easy to install & adjust for start & stop water levels. It went through it's setup routine & has worked fine ever since.

I'm using it in a regular sump well and not a sewage sump well, so can't say how well it works for dirty water.
Maynard Recommends This HydroCheck Product
Maynard's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I've ordered several items from Sump Pumps Direct and have always been satisfied with the products & fast shipping."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials