Search
< Back to Product

Liberty Pumps 257-2 Primary Sump Pumps Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$149.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$149.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$149.00
(as of 10:12 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$246.50
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Liberty Pumps 257-2 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
4/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Pros
Price (2)
I'd Buy It Again (1)
Quiet (1)
Features (1)
Cons
Unreliable (1)
75% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
8 Reviews  Sort by 
 
John R.
Clermont, FL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/7/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
OCT.
07
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Saved Our Property From Hurricane Rain
My garage flooded with 2 " of rainwater 2 years ago causing a lot of work cleaning and drying out entire garage. I installed a Liberty 257-2 pump into a pit and used a check valve and 1.5 " pvc discharge piping. Here in Florida, last night and today we were visited by hurricane Matthew, the pump was busy last night and today pumping many gallons of water keeping my garage dry. Very pleased with the pump, I am going to buy another one to install in my front yard.
John Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Greg B.
Brunswick, OH
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/20/15
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
DEC.
12
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Float Switch Stuck In On Position
This Liberty pump uses an innovative on off switch and I am interested in seeing how durable it and the pump will be. I installed the pump about two weeks ago and had to pull it out of the crock yesterday as it was stuck in the on position. I could not find a problem and was unable to determine why it was stuck in the on position. I lowered it back down into the 10 foot deep crock and it is working as it should.
Greg Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Helena B.
Alma, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/28/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Sump Pump
My sump pump is great. I bought 3 sump pump so far and uses it in various places, and it works every time. The quality is excellent, and the price is right. I just type in what I needed to use it for and it gives me recommendation.
Helena Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Andrew J.
Benbrook, TX
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/5/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Review
Pump seems to be working well- I like that type of sliding float switch. I do wish the water level would go less than 3 1/2" also instruction pamphlet said to drill a 1/8 " hole in discharge line to prevent airlock - description of liberty pumps states that all liberty pumps have a built in hole to prevent airlock.

So do I now have 2 holes and if so do I need to plug up the one I drilled?
Andrew Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Andrew,
Great question. The simple answer is no, you don't need to plug up the hole that you drilled. Having a weep hole in the discharge line will protect you from airlock, regardless if the pump has it engineered into the design of the pump.

If your pit is dry for long periods of time, airlock is more prone to happen compared to a pit that never drys out.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Steve H.
Half Moon Bay, CA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/22/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
06
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I bought this for an outdoor backyard drainage system. It is very quiet. I never hear it inside the house and it is barely audible when I'm outside. It was easy to hook up and so far has ran flawlessly. If it is able to provide many years of service, then I would definitely buy one again when needed.
Pros: Features, Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Steve Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Richard N.
Stow, OH
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/9/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
After a rainfall of 4.5 inches in 90 min. my basement took in some water. It was time to rework the sump system. Installed new pump and plumbing and all is good now. Shipping was very fast. Only problem was I didn't get a manual with it.
Richard Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Tony B.
Butler, NJ
REVIEWED
JAN.
13
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Short Life
Bought in 2011. Already Ii have to purchase a new one. Won't suck.
Pros: Price
Cons: Unreliable
Tony Does Not Recommend This Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Tony,
You may want to check to see if there is anything obstructing the discharge of the pump.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
Martin M.
Rocklin, CA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/18/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Fine
I installed this pump with a four foot lift, sixty five feet long run with four ninety degree bends. I used 1 1/4" schedule 40 PVC pipe. The pump was installed in a two foot deep by eighteen inch diameter sump.

The sump's capacity is twenty two gallons. I tested the pump by filling up the sump to the top and it pumped it out quickly. There was a very long jet of water at the end of the run.

I am very pleased with the performance of the pump. Time will tell under real life... more
Martin Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Martin's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I never installed a sump pump before. I reviewed several videos on the internet concerning installations. All you can do is do your best and make the wisest decision based on what you know. It just boiled down to doing the work installing the basin, drain lines and discharge lines. The electrical input was easy since I am a retired electrician. We had our first rain and all is well."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials