Search
< Back to Product

Liberty Pumps LE51A Sewage Pumps Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$330.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
In-Stock$330.40
No Sales Tax* (Except CA)
Visit Site
 
$348.60
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$330.00
(as of 06:37 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$495.00
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Liberty Pumps LE51A Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
Reliable (6)
Exceeded Expectations (5)
Durable (5)
High Quality (4)
Quiet (3)
Cons
Heavy (2)
Expensive (1)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
34 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Sump Pump Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
30 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1315 Helpful Votes
Sump Pumps Direct Recommended

This is a great sewage pump for light commercial duty applications and residential applications and earns our "Better" recommendation. This pump has a heavy-duty epoxy-coated cast iron housing making it more corrosion-resistant for extended pump life.

Another bonus is the 10' quick disconnect power cord which gives you the ability to easily replace the cord without breaking the seals.

Let's face it, you want to change out your sewage pump as infrequently as possible. It's... more
Jim Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
2611
Mark R.
Howell, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/29/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Heavy Duty Pump, Crazy Fast Shipping
First off, I have to confirm all the other reviews regarding how fast Sump Pump Direct ships their product. I ordered this pump on a Tuesday at noon. The next day (Wed), the pump was at my front door. As far as the pump goes, all I can say is that this thing is a beast. The pump I pulled out weighed in at around 15lbs at best. This thing is built like a tank and weighs in at around 45lbs. Easy to install, very quiet, and drains my sump pit in a matter of seconds. No doubt that I made the right... more
Mark Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Mark's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"As I said in my product review, I ordered this pump on a Tuesday at noon. It was on my doorstep the following morning. Doesn't get any better or faster than that. Loved all the reviews on the website, both those of average homeowners and also of installation pro's. Absolutely no doubt who I will be buying future sump pumps from."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Jay H.
Bingham Farms, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/11/16
REVIEWED
APR.
02
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Extremely Pleased With Liberty Le51a + Sump Pumps Direct
My Liberty 1/2 HP LE51A replaces a Water Ace 3/4 HP unit that was purchased at Lowe's, and less than 5 years old. The Water Ace unit went bad for whatever reasons...Made in China.

After much online research, it became obvious to me that the correct purchase was the Liberty LE51A unit from Sump Pumps Direct. I ordered it online...It was delivered and sitting on my doorstep the following day.

Installation was VERY straightforward...I installed the new pump with a new 2" pipe and I... more
Jay Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Jay's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Sump Pumps Direct is a professional operation...One of the finest customer experiences I have had in years. Very helpful tech assistance via phone. Ultra-fast shipping...I ordered my pump and it was delivered and sitting on my doorstep the following afternoon."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
David
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/31/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Sturdy Unit
No problems with the pump with installation. It was a replacement for a cheap box store unit I just didn't trust. No problems until I started to fill the septic reservoir with bath water. The float did not move very far between on and off - emptied very quickly. I had to reach into the tank to readjust the float. Be careful so the float doesn't catch on the pump or the sidewall of the reservoir tank. It is a bit noisy when it runs but I might try to insulate the area where it is. I also... more
David Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
John P.
Kingwood, TX
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/4/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Vendor
It was exactly what I needed.
John Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
John's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Pump I ordered came very quickly."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Handymanchamp
Stone Mountain, GA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/8/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
Installed the pump in my finished basement, it was very easy to install and it worked great. Would recommend this pump to anyone who is looking to install or replace a sewage pump.
Handymanchamp Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Walter J.
Medina, OH
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/14/16
REVIEWED
APR.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liberty Vs Ridgid
I had a Ridgid 2" pump that I used to maintain water level in my pond,every spring I had to pump for 4 days to get it to normal level. This spring my Ridgid quit on day 4 with more rain coming I was stuck. I ordered a Liberty got it in 1 day I installed it and 2 days later pond level was normal this is one great pump. I would recommend this pump and Sump Pump Direct to anyone. I have a total of 5 pumps & I will order from SPD again. Thank you for the great pump and service Walt
Walter Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Robert C.
Coal City, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/13/16
REVIEWED
APR.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Replacement For My Stevenson Pump
Make sure you test with pump in place in the sump before you put the lid on. I had to move the float attachment point and tweek the mounting bracket a couple of times to ensure the float would operate reely. The pump itself appeared to be like for like for my Stevenson which cost quite a bit more several years ago.
Robert Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Robert's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Pump was shipped quickly and with no issues."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Emmanuel B.
Burlington, MA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/29/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sump Pump
I am so happy with it so far. Therefore, I can't complain, working excellent.
Emmanuel Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Emmanuel's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"LIBERTY PUMP IS THE BEST"
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Rick E.
Bruce, WI
REVIEWED
JUL.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Unbelieveable!!!!!
At the recommendation of a friend of mine who is a master plumber, I purchased this pump. For the last two months, I have had at least 1-2 inches of standing water in my basement. I had an wet basement expert come by and quoted me $30K to solve my problem. A much lesser quote to install a pump that only did 3600GPH, that was going to cost over $1000. With some minor instructions from my plumber friend (I have zero experience with plumbing), I installed this pump and watched the water in my... more
Pros: Exceeded Expectations, Easy To Use, Price, Fast
Cons: Heavy
Rick Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
60
Matt M.
Greenfield, IN
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/18/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liberty Pump = Long Life
Pulled a Liberty pump that was installed outdoors in my yard to mitigate water. Installed in Nov 2005, died exactly 8 years to the month later....designed to run no more than 8hrs at a time - but there were MANY times it ran for days on end! Because the float and AC are hard-wired to a NEMA box - Liberty's design made it easy on me with a removable power cord - didn't even have to open the NEMA box to replace the pump! Took no time at all and I hope to get another 8 years out of the new one -... more
Pros: Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Heavy
Matt Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Matt Would Recommend Sump Pumps Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Best price online and came a day earlier than expected."
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
Rawlin R.
Crescent City, CA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/25/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Liberty Pump Keeps My Vacation Home Working
I installed the Liberty Pump in an existing home built 3 foot diameter. 6 foot deep, brick lined septic tank. I built a PVC pipe framework to stand the pump about 3 feet from the bottom. The outlet of the pump is connected to a 220 foot length of horizontal PVC pipe to the main sewer. There is a 2 inch check valve and ball valve in a horizontal position about 6 feet from the pump. Two 90 degree ells and two 45 degree ells were used in the hookup. I was concerned about enough pump output... more
Was this review helpful?
60
Devin N.
Geneva, NE
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/28/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
20
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Receiving Dock Constantly Flooding
Every Spring when the rain comes down hardest, our receiving dock flooded and the pump we had installed wasn't keeping up at all with the amount of water that went into the bay. I recently purchased this pump to replace the old one and haven't had any problems with flooding or the pump. So far it has proven to be a great investment and I feel as though I definitely got a reliable pump. The old pump was an effluent pump and this one is a sewage pump. This one prevents small things clogging the... more
Was this review helpful?
40
Robert K.
Westminster, MD
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/4/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy Customer
Very happy with pump. Works great. Pumps poo with the best of them. The only issue I had was when I picked it up in the box after delivery I took two steps and one of the handles ripped and I dropped the heavy sucker right on my new hardwood flooring. Put a nice quarter size hole in my floor. The little woman is not a happy camper. I should of never trusted the handles. Other than that I'm happy with your company and will definitely buy from you again.
Was this review helpful?
51
Jonathan
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/5/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Home Owner
Brought this pump after doing research on all sewage pumps. This pump is backed by a 3 yr war. and is made very good and made in USA. Float switch plug on pump was smashed upon arrival, tried to fix it but didn't work. I called Liberty Pumps and they sent me out another one at no cost. Hooked it in and Perfect. Liberty Pumps back their products and I'm very pleased with the customer service. 5 starts. This pump was also very easy to install.
Was this review helpful?
30
Brett H.
Lyndhurst, NJ
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/27/15
REVIEWED
NOV.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Worry Free
Had an old pump running an entire basement. Kitchen, bathroom, and washer machine with continuous troubles of overflows. Whether it was shower water or waste. All resolved with my new easy to install Liberty Pump. No fear or worries anymore. Highly recommended.
Pros: Reliable, Exceeded Expectations, High Quality, Easy To Use
Brett Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Anthony A.
Norton, MA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/1/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Much Better And More Powerful Than My Older 1/2 Hp Wayne Pump
chose the liberty owing to your reviews and talking with customer service rep.
Anthony Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Joe
Peabody, MA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/2/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
My basement pump died and I did some online research and came across the sump pumps direct website. The pump was priced right and was shipped right out. I will refer anyone to this website great business!!
Was this review helpful?
31
Teresa N.
Hayward, CA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/7/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sump Pumps
I reside in California and have apartment complexes in Corpus Christi TX. We needed Sump Pumps, went on line to compare prices.

We found the best prices at SUMP PUMPS DIRECT. The Staff was very helpful in guiding us about the size of the pump and executed my order promptly and efficiently.

They are on my 'book' of contractors I will deal with and recommend to any person/company requiring Sump Pump and other related products.
Teresa Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Al A.
Lincoln, CA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/1/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Pump
Really doing the job, so far very pleased!
Al Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
K Jurgens
New Lenox, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/13/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
03
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
1 Month In No Problems
6 years ago the primary ejector failed and I replaced it with a 5 star expensive green ejector made in WI. 19 months ago, while tending to a fish tank, a child siphoned a rag into the pump and burned it up. I replaced the nice expensive pump with the exact same one (make, model). Only this time, the pump wasn't made in WI, it was made in China with a 12 month warranty. DEAD in 19 months.

I hope this American made Liberty fairs better.
K Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Richard P.
Allen Park, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/12/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Has More Gpm
The GPM is the best!
Pros: Reliable, Exceeded Expectations, Durable, Quiet
Richard Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert W.
Crestwood, KY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/7/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Guality & Value
Compare to the junk at the big box, this is great quality for the small increase in cost.
Pros: Reliable, Durable, Quiet, High Quality
Robert Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Michael R Miller
Kenly, NC
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/14/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump For Septic Run Off Tank.
I have a gravity flow septic system. My drainage field is a total disaster. I have to relocate my drainage field but in the meantime I have to seal it off and keep overflow tank drained. My Liberty LE51A was a perfect solution. So perfect that I tend to forget about my drain field issue. I just need to contact Sump Pumps Direct to see if I can increase the Float Level Bulb by 3' to extend the time before the pump cycles - A minor issue. Great pump - Perfect choice.
Pros: Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, High Quality
Michael Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Michael's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Simple and Sweet - I found Sump Pumps Direct online during a Publishers Clearing House "$7000.00 A Week For Life" search. I went to the site, found my pump, ordered my pump and was pumping sewage in 3 days - Took about 30 minutes online because I spent most of the time looking at all the great stuff on the web site. Plus - I got an entry for the "$7000.00 Dollars A Week For Life" PCH Search."
 more
Was this review helpful?
21
Ray
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/26/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
Used to pump sewer to field lines. Great pump would recommend to others.
Was this review helpful?
21
Ken H.
Whitehouse Station, NJ
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/10/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Got Smart
I replaced a customer's ejector pump with a pump from Lowe's as it was needed immediately. Big mistake. 2 weeks later, called back to find pump running continuously with float switch bad. Made in China garbage! Got the Liberty pump and it was double the weight of the "flea weight" , quieter, and made in USA. Thanks!
Ken Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Ken's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Came promptly and as promised!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Jon G.
Vashon, WA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/18/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
11
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Keeping Our Septic System In Business
I was pleased with the build quality of my liberty pump. The price was great compared to the "green pump" I had to replace. I'm expecting many years of service from this pump. I've only had the pump for one month, so I can't give it all 5 starts just yet. If it keeps the septic system following, straight 5s it will be!
Jon Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeffrey
Cleveland, OH
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/9/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Hopeful Then Disappointed And Maybe Hopeful Again.
We bought this pump to replace a lower gpm pump that couldn't keep up to high volumes of water in the pit in our basement. The pump came and installed easily but the darn thing just stopped working out of the blue. I called Liberty and they said it sounded like a thermal overload switch that is defective.

Return process kind of sucks through SPD and I ended up having to buy another to place in which will get refunded once the initial one gets sent back.

We will see what happens.
Jeffrey Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
00
William W.
Oakland, MD
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/4/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Service Is Great, Personal History With Liberty Pumps Is Great
Delivery was sooner than expected while packing is as good as it gets. The star ratings are based on about thirty years experience using Liberty Pumps, which are in my opinion at the top of the sump pump/ grinder pump field.
Pros: Durable, Reliable, High Quality, Quiet
Cons: Expensive
William Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
William's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Sump Pumps Direct has met my expectations as well as Liberty Pumps have, which is to say at the top of the game."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Patrick D.
Warrior, AL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/3/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
25
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Thank You Sump Pumps Direct!
Was remodeling a downstairs bathroom and needed a sewage sump pump. Found the best price here for the sump pump I was looking for. Ordering was simple & quick. Free delivery and it was on my doorstep in less than 48 hrs. I got exactly what I was promised and will order from these guys again.
Patrick Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Patrick's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Found the best price here for the sump pump I was looking for. Ordering was simple & quick. Free delivery and it was on my doorstep in less than 48 hrs. I got exactly what I was promised and will order from these guys again."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael R M.
Kenly, NC
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/14/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
What The Heck Is Wrong With My Le51a?
In June 2013 I purchased an LE51A - A perfect solution for me - "See my review" higher up in the review page - I stand by that review. 3 days ago Dec. 30, 2014 my LE51A died and I can find no reason why - The pump has performed perfectly.

I suppose BMWs have a bad apple that slips by from time to time but they correct the problem post haste - So does PCH and WalMart for a $10 window fan or a bad charge. That's just good customer business.

I have contacted PED via/email... more
Michael Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Michael,
I'm sorry to hear of the issues you are having with your Liberty pump. While the pump is covered under a 3 year manufacturer warranty, you would need to contact Liberty to verify the problem at hand is indeed caused by a manufacturing defect in the pump. They can be reached at 800-543-2550. If they do deem the pump as defective, please call us or email us with the name of the tech you spoke to and the diagnosis of the pump (not defective) and we'll be happy to initiate the warranty procedure for you per the pump/manufacturer warranty statement listed in the LE51A OWNERS MANUAL. If you have any other questions, please don't hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,
Jim Owiecki
Sump Pumps Direct Product Expert
800-710-7499 X125
630-685-0025 - Direct
james@pedstores.com
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Lynne Y.
Corpus Christi, TX
REVIEWED
DEC.
03
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Liberty Sump Pumps
We purchased two sump pumps and they we delivered very quickly. The installation was not hard and did not take long.

We have tried them out by filling up the area they were installed in and they drained fast.
Lynne Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Was this review helpful?
11
Randall K.
Lytle, TX
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/27/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product, Great Service
I needed a pump to move rainwater that was flooding my house, and boy, does this pump move water!

Had a problem with the float switch shortly after installation. I called Liberty and they sent one out within a week.
Randall Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Randall's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"If I remember correctly I received the product the day after I ordered it and it was free shipping. How did they do that when other times I pay for next day shipping and don't get it that quick? Great prices, RAPID shipping, great experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Rick R.
Palmyra, NY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/10/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Replacement Pumps
We needed to replace two of our sump pumps at one of our commercial buildings, and searched the net for the replacements.

I found Sump Pumps Direct and saw they were BBB Certified and other reviews were good, so I ordered from them.
Rick Recommends This Liberty Pumps Product
Rick's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"The price was great, ordering online was easy, and the delivery was fast. The pumps went in easily, and they work great. I highly recommend this site, and will definitely order from here again. Plus they are BBB Certified."
 more
Was this review helpful?
01
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials