Search
< Back to Product

Metropolitan Industries P20233 Batteries Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Free Shipping$329.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$329.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Metropolitan Industries P20233 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (3)
Reliable (3)
High Quality (2)
Durable (2)
Exceeded Expectations (1)
Cons
Durability (3)
Heavy (2)
Expensive (2)
Refused Warranty (1)
Low Quality (1)
73% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
11 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jonathan G.
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/8/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
AUG.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Perfect Experience!
Informative website, great product, fast shipping, and good price. I'm a happy customer.
Jonathan Recommends This Metropolitan Industries Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles S.
Louisville, KY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/11/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
12
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Great Service From Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased this item in late May 2015 and it had to be returned under warranty along with a Zoeller DC Charger Control Box after 5 months in November 2015. The charger alarm kept sounding even after shutting off the alarm off button. I contacted Zoeller service and they did an online trouble shoot, determining that both the Charger and battery were bad. Told me to return both under warranty.

I then contacted Sumps Pumps Direct service and was told to return only the defective items after... more
Cons: Durability
Charles Does Not Recommend This Product
Charles's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Jim made an exception and let me return the DC Charger box only. I shipped both the battery and the Charger back to Jim via UPS at great expense. Battery weighs close to 70 lbs. After them receiving items I received a replacement Charger within days , but no battery. After contacting Jim, I was told he would check their warehouse receiving for it. Also told it should have actually been sent to the Manufacturer Metropolitan. But I did what I was told by Jim's service representative and sent it to them. After several attempts to locate and e-mails/calls from me. Jim informed me the battery had been lost in his warehouse and he was sending me a replacement at no charge. Although it was a busy time for Jim. They were at least a week behind on returns due to the Thanksgiving holidays. He came though and stood behind his sales."
 more
Was this review helpful?
11
Bryan E.
Green Lane, PA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/4/16
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
28
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sump Pump Battery
This is a heavy unit, solidly built in a sturdy case. Came charged enough to install and test out sump pump, then finished charging. Great.
Bryan Recommends This Metropolitan Industries Product
Was this review helpful?
02
Steve C.
Kingsport, TN
Total Helpful Votes
21 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Did Not Last Long For The Expensive Price Tag
When I was looking for the best backup battery this was the one that was recommended. My backup rarely is ever used but this battery only lasted 2.5 years. I'm very disappointed considering the high price tag. I've ordered the 75 amp and hope it lasts longer.
Cons: Durability, Expensive
Steve Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
215
Andrew Y.
Lombard, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/12/13
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Manufacturer Refused Warranty Claim
Bought this battery 02/19/2013. On 6/1/15 my charger indicated that battery is under 8 volts. I test it and it shows 2 volts and needs to be replaced. I called the manufacturer, since I'm in the same Metropolitan area they told me to just drive out and bring it with me to replace. When I get there they tell me the battery was manufactured over 3 yrs ago and they refused warranty. I bought it 2 yrs and almost 4 months ago. Exactly how is it over 3 yrs. Basically the manufacturer refuses... more
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Easy To Store
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability, Refused Warranty
Andrew Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
151
Mary
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
SEP.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
High Quality And No Extra Work!
As the saying goes, you get what you pay for. While the Power+ battery does have a high price tag, I wanted only the best for my finished basement. I figured I had already spent $20,000 on it so another $450 wasn't going to break the bank.

I've had my backup unit with the Power+ battery installed for a few years now and have had no issues. I was very happy with my purchase when we lost power a few months ago and had no flooding.

The fact that I didn't have to do anything to the battery... more
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Mary Recommends This Metropolitan Industries Product
Was this review helpful?
107
David L.
Pasadena, MD
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/29/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
AUG.
31
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Performer
Paired with my Zoller backup sump pump
David Recommends This Metropolitan Industries Product
Was this review helpful?
22
Mike
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Both Tested Good After 3-1/2 Years
I was told these are 5 -7 year batteries, I have two of them installed since Sept. 2011 and after these last rains and power outages, I thought it would be a good idea to test the batteries, glad to say both tested good after 3-1/2 years:)!
Pros: Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, High Quality
Cons: Heavy
Mike Recommends This Metropolitan Industries Product
Was this review helpful?
78
James
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/15/15
Total Reviews
5 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far Working As Expected.
I purchased two of these batteries to go along with an iON StormPro. So far the StomPro charger has charged both batteries and is not reporting any issues with them.

One thing, the manufactured date on the batteries was almost a year from the day they arrived at my house. I'm not sure if that matters for this type of battery, but it would have been nice to have a "fresher" battery.

These batteries are really heavy! I hope they last at least 4-5 years. I will test the system... more
James Recommends This Metropolitan Industries Product
James's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipped direct from Manufacturer and arrived quickly. Great website and service."
 more
Was this review helpful?
48
Lewis B.
Chicago, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/16/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
APR.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Heavy
The battery arrived with a full charge. No chance, yet, to see how it will perform connected to a back up sump pump, but it tested just fine.
Lewis Recommends This Metropolitan Industries Product
Was this review helpful?
49
Reydante S.
Seattle, WA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/24/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
18
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Power+ 12v Maintenance Free Deepcycle Battery
Received at a reasonable time and as described. Easy to install. Not much to comment since it has been recently installed and may have to wait 1 to 2 years to actually observe its performance.
Pros: Reliable, Features, Easy To Use, High Quality
Cons: Heavy
Reydante Recommends This Metropolitan Industries Product
Was this review helpful?
512
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials