Your Cart @ Sump Pumps Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
   Search
< Back to Product

Wayne SPV800 Primary Sump Pumps Reviews & Ratings - Product Discontinued

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
Discontinued
 
$141.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$149.95
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
 
$116.82
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Wayne SPV800 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (7)
High Quality (5)
Quiet (5)
Durable (4)
Price (4)
Cons
Sad (1)
Packaging (1)
Could Stand A Larger Bas... (1)
Plastic Snap On Float Ro... (1)
97% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
42 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Sump Pump Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
30 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1280 Helpful Votes
Sump Pumps Direct Recommended

If you havenít heard of Wayne Pumps before, you probably live in an area where sump pumps arenít needed. They been making pumps for the last 7 decades, and if you havenít owned one, you probably know somebody who has.

Wayne is one of the largest manufacturers of pumps in the US. They stand behind their products and offer a wide selection of sump, sewage and utility pumps.

Model SPV800 gets our "Best" recommendation for Pedestal Pumps for a few reasons.

The quality... more
Jim Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
400
Duane G.
Salt Lake City, UT
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/28/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wayne Spv800 - 1/2 Hp Cast Iron Pedestal Pump W/ Vertical Float
Works great. Replaced one that had run for over 30 years. The new Wayne shows the old pump just was not working. Easy to set up, clear instructions. Float adjustment took a few days to get set to pump at right amount, not tricky, just requires some thought. Arrived undamaged and on time. Ordered online and paid via paypal and when the order didn't appear online I called customer service and they assured me the pump shipped and indeed the pump was shipped.

Have had pump installed for about a... more
View Image
Duane Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Gordon C.
Waterford, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/27/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
20
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Impressed
Bought this pump about 2 weeks ago after my 1 year old, just-installed Ridgid started making awful noise at the 15 minute mark. This Wayne pump seems quite substantial, and runs very quietly. Time will tell, but so far, I'm very happy with it!
Gordon Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Ken G.
Gilbertsville, PA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/26/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Finally Swapped It Out With The Threat Of A Hurricane Coming
Replaced a tired sump pump with this model. Built better and raised GPM's from the old.

Like this pump much better.
Ken Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Lloyd B.
East Moline, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/8/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sump Pump
Sad to say that I have not installed the sump pump yet, but the quality looks great and I am sure it will work fine.
Lloyd Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
00
William H.
Willoughby Hills, OH
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/21/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
14
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Quiet
I installed the Wayne pedestal pump as a replacement. It is much quieter than the old pedestal pump.
William Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Robert P.
Berkley, MA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/8/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wayne Pump
We installed this pump in an old well we have in our basement that floods over with heavy rain and it works great! This is a wonderful product and we're happy we bought it.
Robert Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Joseph P.
Elm Grove, WI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/27/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
17
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Buy The Real Deal From The Real Deal!!
I went to H D bought what looked like a Wayne, (at the time I forgot what I had at home that needed replacement), for $179.00. When I pulled the real Wayne out and replaced with the H D lookalike my first thought was wow the H D version weighs a lot less, that was the first sighn. Well the flotation device broke off, it did not pump well and after about a week the fake H D version began to fail. I found Sump Pumps Direct, they assisted me on a call, sent me a Wayne pump in 24 hours it arrived!... more
Joseph Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David B
Eden, MD
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/6/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
Replaced a 12 year old Craftsman that was still running. The new pump runs good but won't see service till late winter into spring.
David Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jack
Milford, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/8/13
Total Helpful Votes
10 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
30
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
These Pumps Should Last Decades
We purchased two Wayne SPV800 motor-above-water pumps to replace two failed in-water sump pumps. Based on their cast iron design and the above-water location of their motor and switch, we fully expect them to last decades.
Pros: Durable, I'd Buy It Again
Jack Recommends This Wayne Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Jack,
Realistically, these new pumps won't last as long as ones manufactured in the 70's & 80's. You should expect roughly a 5-7 year life span on this type of pump that's manufactured currently.
more
Was this review helpful?
103
Michael B.
Potomac Falls, VA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/17/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Stick With Wayne!
I recently replaced two Wayne pumps with about 4 years of service with two equivalent Zoellers, believing Zoeller makes a better product. Note that the Wayne pumps were still running, but had a lot of time on them. I configured these on separate circuits with battery backup.

The Zoellers are VERY noisy. So much so that you can hear them upstairs. They are also not as tall as any other pedestal pump I have owned. The bottom of the motors rest at floor level whereas, other pumps are... more
Michael Recommends This Wayne Product
Michael's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"These have arrived with broken switches because they were dropped on the top of the box. I would have no concern if Wayne just added packing foam in the top of the box."
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
Thomas P.
Taylorsville, KY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/7/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
MAR.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Saved My Basement
Melting snow and rain in KY. Basement close to flooding. The plastic bottom blown out of the 3 year old Flotec pump again just creating a whirl pool in the pit. Had a drill pump and garden hose out the window. Received Wayne pump quickly from Sump Pumps Direct. Wayne pump looking very heavy duty installed quickly. Easy float adjustment. Emptied the pit before I could blink.

Eight foot cord reached without extension. Cycles quietly, much less noise compared to the Flotec, located below... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Quiet, High Quality, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Plastic Snap On Float Rod Guide
Thomas Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
50
Michael
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/19/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerfull Pump
The pump arrived quick and in good condition. The quality of the pump looks great and it feels pretty heavy duty. I purchased this pump to replace my old 1/3HP GE pedestal sump pump. I'm not sure why everyone is going to submersible sump pumps these days as my old pedestal pump was in place and worked great for over 35 years (installed 1978) and still worked when I replaced it with this pump. I just replaced it with this as a peace of mind project. The price of this pump was great and I hope... more
Was this review helpful?
50
Henry
Mountainside, NJ
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/8/11
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2012
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
Very Unhappy Customer
I ordered this so called great sump pump on June 14, 2011 not even a year later and it quit on me. I will try and see if they will honor their warranty either way I will be sending another review.
Was this review helpful?
50
Michael M.
New Waterford, OH
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/5/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Pump Arrived In Good Time & Shape!
Very quiet running!
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Quiet
Cons: Could Stand A Larger Base For The Torque
Michael Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Steven T.
Bath, PA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/6/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome
Replaced a 1/3 hp with this unit. It works great and pumps my sump pump pit out in no time at half the noise the old one made. Very quiet pump.
Steven Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Harry G.
Schaumburg, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/8/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
30
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wayne Spv800 - 1/2 Hp Cast Iron Pedestal Pump W/ Vertical Float Switch Review
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Price
Cons: Packaging
Harry Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Dennis Y.
Bennington, VT
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/31/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great & Is Quiet
Seems to work fine. Only comes on with severe rain, so it has'nt been on that much yet, but it is working good so far.
Pros: Easy To Use, Quiet, Fast, High Quality
Dennis Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Bradley J.
Carlisle, PA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/25/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wayne Spv800
I was very happy with my purchase, pump works very good, would buy from you again, fast shipping and good service. Thank you.
Bradley Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Robert A.
Norwell, MA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/25/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Spv800 Sump Pump
It shipped ahead of schedule and arrived promptly.

The pump has been getting a good test with the five feet of melting snow mixed with rain that we've had lately.

The pump is quiet and seems to be up to the task.
Robert Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Richard P.
Austintown, OH
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/29/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
20
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, So Good
Works like a sump pump seems well built, time will tell.
Happy with delivery and all that other good stuff too.
Richard Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Michael N.
Hudsonville, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/25/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Wayne Sump Pump
My original Wayne sump pump gave out after 30 years, so I looked for a replacement on the internet and found a place that was selling them. I had a 1/3 horse and now I got the 1/2 horse Wayne pump. I hope it lasts as long as my first one did.
Pros: Quiet, Price, Fast
Michael Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
10
David R.
Trussville, AL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/20/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fast Service
Spare pump for septic mound system at lake house. Peace of mind.
Pros: Durable, Easy To Use, Price, I'd Buy It Again
David Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Eugene C.
Stevensville, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/18/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
09
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Solid Pump
The pump is well built. The only question is how will the motor made in China hold up? To date I am very satisfied. Shipping was fast customer service was very helpful.
Pros: Motor Made In China Time Will Tell Overall The Pump Works Great
Eugene Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Billy
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/4/12
REVIEWED
SEP.
26
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Well
I installed the pump, with a back flow valve, in a 100 year old basement with lots of seepage. So far it works very well and removes water quickly.

I replaced an older submersible with a bad float switch and feel this pedestal style will be more dependable and easier to maintain.
Was this review helpful?
10
Robin T.
Baldwinsville, NY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/1/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
23
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
At First I Thought This Pump Was Great - Now ......
After I installed the Wayne pedestal (replacing my 5 year old Rigid) I was amazed at how quiet it ran. It was so quiet I was going to order a second pump to have as a ready replacement. Two days later the pump started making a much louder noise, vibration of the impeller I believe. During the Spring my pump will run every 6 minutes for 30 seconds, so the noise can be highly noticeable. Yes it pumps fine, but no quieter than my Rigid. Oh well.
Robin Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
22
Daniel F.
Streamwood, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/13/15
REVIEWED
APR.
17
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wayne Spv800
I purchased this pump to replace the Sears unit that had been in use in my crawlspace since 1997. I felt that after 18 years of use the Sears pump was probably nearing the end of its life, and so wanted to install a new unit while the old pump was still operational.The new Wayne unit is in place and running well.

This unit is *very* quiet, much more so than the older unit I replaced. I purchased a Defiant inline ground fault circuit interrupter (GFCI) for use with the pump to protect... more
Daniel Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Clifford A.
Nashua, NH
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/22/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Replacing Really Old Pump
This pump really moves the water.
Clifford Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David P.
Morrow, OH
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/7/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Replaced Chinese Junk
I had replaced my crawl space sump pump in July 2014 with a Lowe's one third HP Chinese special. First one stalled on start-up and the impeller seized to the bottom.

Returned and replaced with another, same unit, This worked OK but was noisy despite being all plastic except the copper in the motor.

Felt this unit might not have a long life and installed the Wayne. Cannot hear this unit run and expect many years of service.
David Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Lynn D.
Montgomery, MN
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/19/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
11
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Online Sump Pump Purchase
I bought this as a backup in case my installed one fails, so I haven't had to use it yet. I chose Wayne because it is well known and I haven't heard anything negative about their products. I was very pleased with the prompt filling and shipment of my order.
Pros: Price, Features, Easy To Store
Lynn Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bryan A.
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Performance
Works wonderful and very reliable.
Pros: Durable, I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Reliable
Bryan Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Roger D.
Lansing, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/24/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works As Expected
Great Value!
Pros: Durable, Quiet, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Roger Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Rebecca
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/4/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
High Expectations
This pedestal pump replaced one that lasted 25-30 years. After torrential storms the old one became unreliable. I hope to get same longevity out of the Wayne 1/2hp. Time will tell.
Was this review helpful?
00
Raymond R.
New Berlin, WI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/21/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
12
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy
Very good product......... Very good service..........Very fair price. I will tell my friends a great place to get a pump.. Thank you!
Was this review helpful?
00
Ron S.
Belgium, WI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/20/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Wayne Spv800 Worth The Money
Superior quality with a can't be beat price. Saw the same model at Do It Best for $40 more. Free shipping and fast processing adds to the value of buying from Sump Pumps Direct.
Was this review helpful?
00
Glen
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/19/13
REVIEWED
FEB.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Spv800 Pedestal Pump
I used this pump to replace a Master Plumber pedestal sump pump in a 100 year old rental house. Took about an 1.25 hour to complete the job with the majority of the time being spent cleaning out the sump pit (not a pleasant experience). This pump is really quite and, despite the time necessary to complete the job, very easy to install. Well worth the extra money spent on this item rather than the bargain brand it replaced. It moves water very fast and can barely be heard on the main floor
Was this review helpful?
11
Scott R.
Sidney, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/20/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
23
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Satisfied!
Our basement can pump a fair amount of water so much so that I had a municipal water supply back-up installed a few years after we moved in.

We have had a number of different manufacturer's pedestal pumps (Star, Wayne, Sears Craftsman) since purchasing our home in 2005 and my hope is that manufacturers continue to make pedestal pumps as I don't feel that a submersible pump will fit in our sump pit alongside the municipal back-up system.

When it was time to replace the Craftsman pump after... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard
Cresco, PA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/18/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Pump
Good pump I would buy again. Great price, I would recommended it.
Was this review helpful?
00
Richard Orr
Cresco, PA
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
This pump was easy to install. Have been using for 3 months with out a problem. Will buy it again.
Was this review helpful?
00
David
Stratford, CT
REVIEWED
SEP.
21
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pleased
I am pleased with the product to date. The construction and finish were as advertised. The efficiency has been spot on. So far, much superior to the stuff purchased as made in Mexico and China.
Was this review helpful?
00
Joe M.
Niagara Falls, NY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/11/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
10
2013
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Failed In Two Weeks & Basement Flooded
Pump quit after only two weeks. Motor ceased. If I would have bought it local I could have returned it. Not worth the hassle of the post office etc
Joe Recommends This Wayne Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Joe,
We're sorry to hear about that pump failing for you. It is rare that the motor would cease on a pump that's only a few months old. This pump is covered by a 2 year warranty. I would suggest contacting Wayne directly @ (800) 237-0987 to see how they would handle this warranty issue.
more
Was this review helpful?
23
Donald T.
Swartz Creek, MI
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2014
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
It Hums But Won't Start
Used your pump as a back up.Going away for quite a while. Now is the time to install your new one. Nothing happened so I took the bottom off to check the impeller. Plugged in the pump an nudged the impeller a little bit an it ran quiet an smooth. Pump is on 20 amp #12 wire.
Cons: Sad
Was this review helpful?
26
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials