Your Cart @ Sump Pumps Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
   Search
Priority Shipments @ Sump Pumps Direct View All In-Stock Pumps View Transit Times
< Back to Product

Wayne WSSM40V Combo Sump Pumps Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$534.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$534.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$534.99
(as of 06:57 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$534.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Wayne WSSM40V Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
Features (7)
Easy To Use (5)
Quiet (4)
I'd Buy It Again (3)
Durable (2)
Cons
Expensive (5)
Bad Instructions (2)
100% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
18 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Burton C.
Middletown, DE
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/10/15
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy Install/setup
This is a nice system. It was delivered within two days and Jim was helpful and answered all my questions. I did have a problem with the controller not dialing out but once a replacement controller was sent out by Wayne, everything works great.

Took me about 2-3/4 hours to install along with The Original Radon - Sump Dome™ and running a phone jack. All in all, I'm very happy and it is neat that it calls you with status updates, although I would rather get a text, voicemail is okay. The... more
View Image
Burton Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
88
Anish C.
Mount Prospect, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/14/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
26
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Better Than The Others
This pump is better than others. It's easy to setup. The backup pump is setup nicely. It does not hang or look like it is going to fall apart. I would buy again.
Anish Recommends This Wayne Product
Anish's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great place to buy a pump"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
John C.
Newton Falls, OH
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/28/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
18
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Piece Of Mind
Wanted a single unit with back up pump and battery. Easy installation with preexisting pump. Bought back up battery at NAPA. Got a deep cycle marine battery. Unit works and is running it's periodic testing after setting up unit. The main reason for purchase was piece of mind for when we're away - power or pump failure we should be protected from catastrophic damage. Do not have home phone, only cellular - would be nice if unit operated off WiFi.
John Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Michael F.
Neshanic Station, NJ
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/21/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
24
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Replaced An Old Pump
Sump pump arrived well packed and in perfect condition. Replacing the old pump was straightforward. Cut a new piece of pvc pipe to fit the old outflow pipe and set in sump hole. Followed instructions to enter phone numbers and connected phone line for notifications. Pump is very quiet and works smoothly.
Michael Recommends This Wayne Product
Michael's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Sump Pumps Direct very easy to deal with and you can talk to real people. Nicely done!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
James F.
Brownsburg, IN
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/15/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
31
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Don't Drain Your Hot Water Heater Into This Pit
This system was easy to install and worked well. My hot water heater is adjacent to the sump pit so once a year when I drain my hot water heater I simply drain it into the pit and the pump works fine. However, I did this about 4 months after I installed this system and luckily I tested it toward the end of the process and realized that the backup wasn't working.

Even though the temp was at the low end of "hot" it was hot enough to melt the backup seals and the pump was dead. ... more
James Recommends This Wayne Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
James,
Always a good ideal to familiarize yourself with the specs of the pump/systems found in the owner's manual. Hot water is never good for pumps, unless the pump is designed to for it. Hopefully everything is working correctly now.
more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jonathan P.
Royal Oak, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/27/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
08
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Wssm40v Review
So far the Wayne system with backup has worked great. It is a good piece of mind especially with the self test every 2 weeks. I have had power go out a few times and the system provides alarm and more importantly the backup turns on without issue. Great product so far (approx 2 month use) easy installation maybe 15minutes plug and play right out of the box. Great service thru Sump Pumps Direct on this. I'll follow up in year or so to confirm still doing fine or any issues. Thanks
Jonathan Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Dave
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/2/14
REVIEWED
APR.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quiet Pumps - Easy To Install
The Wayne WSSM40V was a very nice primary and backup pump combination. It is a complete assembly that includes the check valves and a 1-1/2” PVC Y fitting at the top. It was very easy to install. Both pumps are extremely quiet when operating. Highly recommend.
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
Dave Recommends This Wayne Product
Dave's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great site with plenty of helpful information and reviews. Allowed me to compare pumps from different manufactures and pick the best one for my needs."
 more
Was this review helpful?
84
Scott R.
Pleasant Hill, IA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/3/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
24
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, So Good
Easy to install, very fast shipping, no damage. Work and looks great.
Scott Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
85
Adam W.
Fulton, MD
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/29/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
This combo pump is pretty expensive but we feel that the peace of mind provided by the autodialer are worth the cost. I could not hear the pumps at all while I watched them run and tested them out.

The pump was back ordered but shipped very quickly once it came back in stock. It was very easy to install since the check valves and Y were already connected to the primary and backup pumps.

The instructions were generic and covered multiple models with the exception of one pamphlet addressing... more
Pros: Features, Quiet, Easy To Use, High Quality
Cons: Expensive, Bad Instructions
Adam Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
74
William M.
Northbrook, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/14/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
07
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Install
Replaced an old pump. The main pump is quiet, very quiet. Battery backup features are great - love the "phone" features. There are YouTube videos showing how to install.

If I can install it, anyone can!
Pros: Features, Quiet, Easy To Use, Fast
Cons: Expensive
William Recommends This Wayne Product
William's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It was free shipping and I got it the next day. Outstanding"
 more
Was this review helpful?
74
Phil B.
West Lafayette, IN
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/1/15
REVIEWED
APR.
01
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Easy To Install
This is the 2nd sump pump that I have purchased from Sump Pumps Direct. The first one was a Wayne pedestal, which did not last 1 year. This time I decided to spend a lot more and get the complete deal. I am very glad I did. This system is very quiet and was very easy to install. I like the Advanced Notification system, that lets me know when there is problem. Would recommend this pump to any one.
Phil Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
53
Corey C.
Pleasant Prairie, WI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/11/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump, Easy Install, Super Quiet
The instructions are not so good, but the benefit of this system to be able to drop it in, hook up the pipes and plug in the main pump is super easy. The wires to the back up battery could be a little longer for my taste, but are good quality and long enough to get good battery placement near your pit. Clearer information on using or not using a secondary check vale would be helpful (no info in instructions on the valves connected to the pumps). Also, clear info on the specifications for the... more
Pros: Features, Quiet, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Bad Instructions
Corey Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Giovanni P.
Wixom, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/5/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Combo
I bought one last week from Sump Pumps Direct and am very happy with it.

Now every time we have these big storms I am not worried anymore.

Installation is a bit challenging for the telephone hook up but only took me total of 2.5 hours to install.
Giovanni Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
66
W.r. M,
West Frankfort, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/8/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
28
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
P.e.d. & Product Great. Wayne Is Also, If You Get The Right Guy
Prompt and professional throughout the ordering, delivery and questions with P.E.D.. The pumps system was easy to install and worked great from the start.

The auto dialer was not functioning in the initial testing and, several calls to Wayne Pumps finally resulted in talking with an expert who quickly had me through the setup for the auto dialer. Getting to him was a pain, including dealing with a 'forgetful' supervisor who had tone jolted.

It remains to be seen if the system actually... more
Pros: Features, I'd Buy It Again, Price, Reliable
W.r. Recommends This Wayne Product
W.r.'s Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"P.E.D. was great and so is the product. Prompt and professional. It was a problem with the auto dialer feature that left me with a bad taste. Not from P.E.D. but Wayne Pumps. Over the holidays and the 'expert' off. Supervisor 'Brian' promised a call in two days. five days later, with no, call I called. I got my expert and 'Brian' called much later to apologize and an 'I forgot.' Bull-Feathers!!! Expert was very good and got me through setup. It remains to be seen if the auto dialer feature really calls every two weeks as it's supposed to."
 more
Was this review helpful?
55
Stephen J.
Mason, OH
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/10/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
06
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Easy To Install And Program
The combination makes it very easy to install. The system is very easy to program. The telephone features work well. The pump will call my cell phone and my wife's cell phone if a fault occurs. I haven't wired it to my alarm system yet, but plan to because we silence our cell phones at night. The extra cost of the maintenance free battery is worth it to me. The plumber told me that he prefers Zoeller pumps, but he said he was impressed by the Wayne system features and would consider Wayne... more
Pros: Features, Easy To Use
Stephen Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
44
Bryan T.
Newton, IA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/17/15
REVIEWED
APR.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cool Setup
This is what it says it is. Two pumps in one, with the second being a battery backup. Installed with ease. Do note that you need a land line to plug the notification feature into. Everything works as expected.
Bryan Recommends This Wayne Product
Bryan's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Very Impressed with your service!! Product shipped quickly and was delivered in a matter of days. Your tech support was five stars, I submitted some questions and each time received a response quickly with my questions answered completely."
 more
Was this review helpful?
34
Erik Rivera
Streamwood, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/25/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Gramps Has A Spring Under His House
Needed a good pump after several failures by other pumps. Dealing with lots of water, put this bad boy in to accommodate til we resolve the ocean residing under his house.

Had torrential rain a few days after install, the back up pump didn't even cycle. Tech support guy at Wayne was super cool, chewed his ear off for a 1/2 hour. Totally a pro pump.
Pros: Easy To Use, Durable, Fast, High Quality
Cons: Expensive
Erik Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
34
James B.
Marshalltown, IA
REVIEWED
DEC.
10
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great System
Bought to replace worn out system. I like the notification to my cell phone
Pros: Durable, Features, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Expensive
James Recommends This Wayne Product
Was this review helpful?
24
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials