Your Cart @ Sump Pumps Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
   Search
Priority Shipments @ Sump Pumps Direct View All In-Stock Pumps View Transit Times
< Back to Product

Zoeller 004705 Switches Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
$29.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$29.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Zoeller 004705 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
4/5
Quality
4/5
Performance
4/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Pros
Easy To Use (3)
Price (3)
Easy To Store (1)
Light Weight (1)
High Quality (1)
Cons
Unreliable (2)
Durability (2)
For A High Quality Pump ... (1)
Low Quality (1)
Shipping Costs For Small... (1)
81% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
17 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Steve S.
Colbert, WA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/14/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
SEP.
05
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Replacement
The switch was priced right and was a perfect replacement. Thanks for stocking the parts that keep us going.
Steve Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeff
Most Helpful Critical Review
REVIEWED
APR.
05
2016
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Didn't Make A Lot Of Difference
Pump wouldn't start without a little kick on the pipe so I thought I needed a new switch. I ordered the new switch, but it has not made any difference. The only thing that worked was to add flotation to the existing float. Do they get water logged?

A new gasket should really be part of this kit. Switch was easy enough to install
Jeff Does Not Recommend This Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Jeff,
Great question about the float. Depending on the age of the pump, you most likely have mineral buildup on the float/arm. This will make the switch stick.
more
Was this review helpful?
01
Paul S.
Arthur, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/28/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
15
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
M53 Relacement Switch
Ordeedr part and was easy to replace as listed does not include gasket, I missed that it is available as an additional part. PED was helpful in getting additional part sent out.
Paul Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Ron J
Upper Marlboro, MD
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/9/16
REVIEWED
APR.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Easy To Install A Teenager Can Do It
My M98 sump pump wouldn't shut off. I purchased this switch and had my 13 year old install it. With some guidance he installed the switch and reinstalled the pump in about 30 minutes. The sump pump has been working flawlessly for several months.
Ron Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
01
R J
Upper Marlboro, MD
REVIEWED
MAR.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works As Advertised
The switch on my M98 would stick causing the pump to run continuously. I would hit the top of the pump with a pipe so the pump would work correctly. Usually I replace the pump. I saw this switch on this site and decided to try it.

The switch arrived a day early. It took less than 10 minutes to install. The pump works correctly.

As other reviewer's stated, a gasket doesn't come with the switch. Be careful when removing the top of the pump as not to damage the gasket.
Pros: Easy To Use, Price
Cons: Shipping Costs For Small Item
R Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
01
David A.
Marion, OH
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/22/16
REVIEWED
FEB.
13
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Switch Failure
Sump pump switch was stuck closed causing pump to not shut off .Got on line found this company ordered part arrived next day to my surprise, Great Service!
David Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
01
Alberto P.
Tonawanda, NY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/27/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Easy Cheap Fix
I have a very old pump which stop working. I put in the new switch which is cheaper then a new pump. Easy to install took like 5min and now I have a reliable pump again.
Alberto Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
03
Fred J.
Kerhonkson, NY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/5/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
16
2015
1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5
No Gasket? Really!!?
The "switch kit" costs about as much as the pump itself. I knew it was just the switch that was the problem, but how can you not even include the gasket that you need to replace with the switch? $70 hardly seems worth it for a gasket. A disposable pump from a big box store seems more cost effective than the "quality" brand that needs a replacement switch every couple years.
Fred Does Not Recommend This Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Fred,
We do apologize for the confusion, however we do not mention anything in the product description for the Zoeller 004705 replacement that indicates that the gasket is included. The product page has been updated to offer the gasket as an accessory if needed. That said, if you still need the gasket, please let me know and I'll be happy to mail one out to you, no charge, due to this issue.
Sincerely,
Jim Owiecki
Sump Pumps Direct Product Expert
800-710-7499 X125
630-685-0025 - Direct
james@pedstores.com
more
Was this review helpful?
53
Todd H.
Decatur, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/2/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
34 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
17
2013
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
I Won't Buy Zoeller
I bought a replacement switch and its' assembly to replace the bad switch on my Zoeller pump. This three year old pump came with the house that I had bought. After about a year of living at my house I discovered water in my basement. It was due to the switch sticking. One tap and it turned on. If water comes in slowly the switch won't engage. It's a bad design. I quickly grew tired of babysitting this pump, so I replaced it with a better Liberty 257. I don't forsee having the same... more
Cons: Unreliable
Todd Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
1311
Mike
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/15/13
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
13 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
FEB.
27
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great
My order arrived quickly and instructions were easy. Made install a breeze. Pump working perfectly again .
Was this review helpful?
1210
Kenneth A.
Medford, MA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/19/14
REVIEWED
JAN.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Float Switch
After a recent very big rain storm in Massachusetts, about five inches'. One of two Zoeller pumps failed. Our son recently purchased this home 8 month ago. The house, a raised ranch, has a french drain system with two pumps. One pump failed and there was about four inches of water in the finished basement. The immediate fix was to replace the pump and cleanup the mess. I checked the pump to see why it failed. It was the float switch. Upon further investigation I found there is no check valve on... more
Kenneth Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
99
David M.
Shelby Township, MI
REVIEWED
MAY.
17
2014
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
M53 Is A Good Pump, But....
As with many things they just aren't built like they used to be. As a plumber, I get to see hundreds, Zoeller was my number one pump. However I've been seeing more failures recently on M53's built in 2010-2011. Just the switch fails. I am wondering if the switch is being supplied or manufactured cheaper. As in 24 years I've replaced more Zoellers in the last 12-18 months than I have in 20 years.

Its just like one reviewer said the switch is intermitent. sometimes it wont turn on, sometimes... more
Pros: Easy To Use
Cons: Durability
David Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
89
David L.
Dayton, OH
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/13/15
REVIEWED
APR.
03
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
New Switch
Switch came quickly and is an exact fit plus it was easy to find it on the site .Thank You.
David Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
79
Alan Schwartz
Morganville, NJ
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/24/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sump Pump Switch
Great price for original part. Fast shipping. Easy site to use.
Pros: Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Alan Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
79
Cathy M.
Bangor, PA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/17/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2014
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Zoeller M98 Switch
No story, just a very poor quality switch, does not last more than 24 Month for us . Then if we are not home the basement floods
Pros: Easy To Use, Price, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Low Quality, Unreliable, Durability, For A High Quality Pump The Only Weakness Is The Switch Iton
Cathy Recommends This Zoeller Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Cathy,
If you really like the M98, but don't like the switch, we have a solution for you. The N98 w/ Level Guard Switch. You never have to worry about a mechanical switch failing again.

Zoeller N98 Sump Pump w/ Level Guard Switch
more
Was this review helpful?
810
John K.
Grayslake, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/23/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
15
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Super Fast
Ordering was very easy. Sump pump direct sent all order and shipment info. Was very up-to-date.
Order came fast. Parts where correct. Very satisfied.

Will use for future orders.
John Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
03
John M.
Butternut, WI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/17/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Zoeller Switch Replacemant
Original switch was getting erratic and I had to keep fiddling with it. The pump is about 5 years old, used in a basement drain system and usually runs about 5-6 months a year. Fast shipping on the switch and fit perfect and with limited down time....
John Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
14
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials