Search
< Back to Product

Zoeller 508-0005 Backup Sump Pumps Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$309.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$309.00
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
 
$305.02
(as of 07:17 CST - Details)
Sales Tax in 26 states
Visit Site
 
$349.99
Sales Tax Extra
Visit Site
Zoeller 508-0005 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
4/5
Overall
4.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 54.7 out of 5
Pros
I'd Buy It Again (5)
Features (4)
Easy To Use (4)
High Quality (3)
Price (3)
Cons
Expensive (2)
94% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
18 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Sump Pump Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
30 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1321 Helpful Votes
Sump Pumps Direct Recommended

Zoeller is the name you hear most when it it comes to pumps and this latest entry is the new & improved battery backup with higher head capability, higher pumping capacity, a re-designed, U.S Built pump and more bells and whistles on the controller.
This pump will provide a 30GPM capacity at a 10 foot head with a max head of 20 feet! The pump is built by Zoeller at their Louisville, KY. plant and the controller has undergone a total re-design which now includes an LCD screen that always... more
Jim Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
7518
Justin B.
Dexter, MN
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/29/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
JAN.
04
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Saved Me
This system saved me a big headache when my primary pump failed. The only bad thing is for some reason the alarm didn't go off like it normally would. It's possible the woman of the house silenced it and failed to relay that vital piece of information :)

I love this system, I check it periodically just to make sure it's all good and it's always there on standby. If I had a home phone service I would add a auto-dialer but since I only have a cell phone I chose not to mess with it. The alarm... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, High Quality, Features, Easy To Use
Cons: Expensive
Justin Recommends This Zoeller Product
Justin's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Another good experience with sumppumpsdirect. I'm happy with the product and the shipping was fast."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Richard
Novi, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/29/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quality Backup
I had an older (off brand) battery back up sump pump that failed on me and I wanted to put in a brand name replacement. Except for a controller problem (that was quickly replaced) the battery backup has been working great. This unit pumps a lot of water. It was easy to install and adjust. It seems to be a quality product, that I expect to provide years of back up service.

Although I did have an early failure (which was quickly corrected), I have confidence in this product. It pumps a lot of... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Easy To Use, Features, Exceeded Expectations
Richard Recommends This Zoeller Product
Richard's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I had prompt and courteous communication with Sump Pumps Direct. The shipping was extremely fast when I ordered this unit. The web site was excellent as well."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Arturo X.
Macomb Township, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/24/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
27
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Good!
This system is really easy to install. If I did it, anybody can do it.
Arturo Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Randell H.
Derby, KS
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/2/16
REVIEWED
SEP.
29
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Easy Install, A Bit Pricey
Very easy installation, and a high quality pump. Even with its high quality, I found the price of the unit to be a bit high.
Randell Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Donald J.
Peoria, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/9/16
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Well Designed Backup Sump
This is the easiest backup sump pump I have installed. The quality is outstanding,and performance excellent. Since I found this model and brand this is the only backup sump I will install.
Donald Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas M.
Wichita, KS
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/3/16
REVIEWED
MAY.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Appears To Be A Very Good Unit
Installed with relative ease. Instructions easy to follow. It was installed on/with a new Zoeller M57.regular sump pump. In my basement it has to lift water 9' and push it horizontal another 10'

It's 1st real world test was a 4 hr power outage 1 week after install and the drain tile was flowing at a high rate into the sump pit and it worked flawlessly. It runs very quiet. Control panel easy to ready. Wish the counter for number of times it runs is more easily reset but a minor issue. It... more
Pros: I'd Buy It Again, Features, Easy To Use
Cons: Expensive
Thomas Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jay K.
Gaines, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/16/16
REVIEWED
MAR.
08
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice And Quiet
Quick shipping, great product and works great. Top cover for the battery pack came broken but didn't ask for a replacement. Original box that the unit is shipped in doesn't offer much protection.
Jay Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Bobby
Total Helpful Votes
35 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
AUG.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
The Real Deal
Good value, easy to install. I tested and it's a legit 30 gallons a minute at a 10 ft lead. Had the basement watchdog big dog rated at 36-38 and I tested it at 16 gallons which I promptly returned. Plus it's very quiet, much quieter than the big dog. Made in the USA so that's a plus too nothing cheap on this model and the charger is 10 amps so this will charge your battery quickly. Just released so it may be the first one using peak flow pumps input and design (they bought them this... more
Pros: Price, Fast, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Bobby Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
355
William B.
Belmont, MA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/19/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
34 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Keep Your Battery In Mind.
This product installed well and seems to have all the necessary features. I like the quality of the charger -- good indicator lights.

In building a backup system, people need to think about the battery. All lead acid batteries do deteriorate and need to be replaced every few years. 3 years seems to be a safe number.

No matter how little you use your backup system and how consistently it is charged, the battery will fail completely in a few years.
William Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
3311
Gary H.
Plymouth, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/1/14
Total Helpful Votes
27 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JUL.
23
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Quality, Fast, Friendly & Knowledgable Service
Needed a back up pump when power fails from storms. Water surge is substantial. The old backup worked but did not pump enough water to counteract surge. Pump pit is small and crowded. Pumps Direct knew what to use and how to install. Works great!
Pros: Features, Easy To Use, Quiet, Price
Gary Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
276
Brian S.
Plainfield, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/7/15
Total Helpful Votes
15 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
APR.
28
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Good Product - Made In Usa
The pump installed easily as advertised, and the manual was clear. I'm happy to finally have some peace of mind!

Sump Pumps Direct delivered quickly. I also bought a Zoeller battery in order to get an extended 3-year warranty but I'm not convinced the increased price of the brand name battery is worth it.
Pros: Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Brian Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
154
George
Colorado Springs, CO
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/11/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
02
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Product/easy To Install
Bought this to add to my existing pump. Was super easy to install, pulled up my existing pump, cut the pipe, inserted the tee and hooked up the Zoeller pump and dropped it back in the sump.

Did it all while the sump was still filing due to our record rainfall. Hooked it up to the battery and tested it in various "failure modes": main pump failure with power complete power failure- works like a champ. Great peace of mind. Highly recommend.
George Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
188
Aj J
Naperville, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/1/15
REVIEWED
OCT.
31
2015
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Backup Sump Pump
This is a great battery backup sump pump. Works well once the water level reaches the mark but there is a delay of 3 seconds for the alarm to sound. So the alarm will never sound if this keeps working and primary fails. Only time alarm will sound once both primary and backup fails. By that alarm will be of no use.
Was this review helpful?
91
Ryan W.
Saint Charles, MO
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/13/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Extra Security And Piece Of Mind
Basement flooded last year when our primary sump pump went out during a day of heavy rains, $14k of cleanup and damage. I wasn't going to let that happen again so I got a backup. The Zoeller 508 gives me piece of mind, not having to worry if the primary goes out in a storm again, or if the power goes out! It was super easy to install, don't think it even took me an hour.

I loved how it installs inline w/ the existing discharge pipe so I didn't have to splice in a branch. I haven't tested... more
Ryan Recommends This Zoeller Product
Ryan's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Sump Pumps Direct was a great source for ordering my backup sump pump! They have a ton of options and their expert reviews and opinions made it easier to chose the best one for me!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
60
David
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/8/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Best Backup System Ever
I purchased and installed this system for my son. Easy to install and works great. Now I want one for my house.
David Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Alan
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/12/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
04
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Needed To Feel Safer With Better Back Up Sump
I had a cheap backup sump from a big box store and wanted something to make me feel safer. This unit definitely looks and feels safer. The pump is substantially sturdier and more "industrial" than my previous back up. The electronic display also tells me how many times it has run with the power out.

I hope it never runs but I feel good about this pump being a very good insurance policy to protect my basement.
Alan Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Christopher W.
Oberlin, OH
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/8/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
In Sight, Out Of Mind
Received my Zoeller battery backup system, after suffering through two terrible years with a PSC pro series system. Had a licensed plumber install it, and he put it right on top of the Zoeller 508 which I also bought. I don't have anything bad to say about it....but cant rave about it either. Why?, because the Zoeller 508 its mounted on top of is working flawlessly.
Christopher Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials