Search
< Back to Product

Zoeller N53 Primary Sump Pumps Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$134.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$134.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
Zoeller N53 Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (6)
Reliable (5)
Price (5)
Durable (5)
I'd Buy It Again (4)
Cons
None From Me (1)
Unreliable (1)
Damaged (1)
Packaging (1)
Bad Instructions (1)
94% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
28 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Gaetano M.
Loxahatchee, FL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/8/16
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
MAR.
01
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Zoeller N53
Pump shipped very quickly. Ordered some other parts from another site...weight 8oz took a week and a half. Received pump in 2-3days...made connections...plugged it in and its been working great. Pump has been good for far...looks like. Very solid pump...would give it 5 stars but I've only had it a month.. I'm confident though... will buy from this site again if needed.
Gaetano Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Marlane H.
Milbank, SD
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/5/15
REVIEWED
DEC.
18
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Zoeller Pumps
Great pumps from Zoeller. I have 3. The first one lasted approx. 16 years in a sump basket.
Marlane Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Chuck
Darien, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/10/13
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
19 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
MAY.
31
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Piece Of Mind
I have two sump pump pits in a sub basement. The pit bottoms are 13' below grade. After the last few storms, April/May 2013 it was time to replace my 10 plus year old pumps (different brand). I was starting to have problems with the float switches. I have help many friends that flooded after these heavy rains. Zoeller does make a quality pump. For control switch I use the "levelguard". No second thoughts about this setup. Levelguard has been proven to work more than 1.5 million on/off... more
Was this review helpful?
80
Tim
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/12/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Works Great!
I have had my new Zoeller N53 and LevelGuard switch installed for about a month now. I got them both installed one day before the huge spring rains hit, and I'm glad I did. I was replacing an older unit with an integrated diaphragm switch that was failing after 5 years. The new setup works great, and we got through the deluge with no water in the basement. The LevelGuard works perfectly as advertised, and the Zoeller pump is quiet and effective. Its solid cast iron frame also gives me... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Gene W.
Blue Grass, IA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/22/15
REVIEWED
APR.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Zoeller Model 53 Sump Pumps
After extensive research, I determined the Zoeller 53 series to be the best sump pump available today.
Mine have always performed flawlessly in the worst of rain storms and beyond.
Gene Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
10
William B.
Belmont, MA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/19/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
34 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
JAN.
10
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Off To A Good Start
Installed the N53 to replace a 4 year old RIGID pump. The float switch on that pump had failed and flooded our basement. The pump itself was all rusted out so I decided just to replace everything.

The N53 was delivered timely and the installation was smooth. The N53 is a good quality pump -- seemingly more rugged than the RIGID I replaced.

I installed it with a LevelGuard solid state pump switch and the pair work perfectly together. I feel good about using a solid state switch -- the... more
William Recommends This Zoeller Product
William's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Quick responsive and knowledgeable help. The best thing was you have everything in stock. People tend to buy pumps when it rains hard, so local vendors tend to run out of stock when it is most needed."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Brian C.
Coventry, RI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/17/14
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
JAN.
08
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Zoeller Pumps Are The Best...
Bought this N53 sump pump to replace a similar (possibly the same model, could not read the model number of the old pump) Zoeller 1/3HP sump pump which lasted for 19 years. During that time, every Spring, the pump worked hard, turning on every couple of minutes and keeping our basement dry. It's a workhorse.There was no way I was going with a different brand. New pump is working great...
Brian Recommends This Zoeller Product
Brian's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"This was my first purchase from Sump Pumps Direct and I was impressed and very satisfied with the experience. Thanks!!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
David R.
Willoughby, OH
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/4/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Most Reliable Residential Pump Ever
I just replaced my Zoeller pump that I installed back in 1997. It was still working, but the power wire was pretty brittle and I was concerned about its. Hope the new one last another 17 years.
David Recommends This Zoeller Product
David's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Shipped as promised, no problems"
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Edward S.
Lewiston, NY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/30/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
21
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Cast Iron Rocks
The previous pump had some kind of alloy housing. In two years, galvanic action had removed all the zinc from the housing and it ended up with a fist size hole in the side.

The Zoeller is mostly cast iron which galvanically is more neutral than zinc alloy. It might show a bit a slight bit of surface rust, but I am sure I will never see it rot like the one it replaced.
Pros: Quiet, Price, Durable, Reliable
Cons: Bad Instructions, Packaging
Edward Recommends This Zoeller Product
Edward's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
4/5
"Only one minor issue. The box is not study enough to ship the heavy pump. I've bought two of these from Sump Pumps Direct, and in both cases the box looks like shredded wheat when it arrives. I guess the self destruction works because the pumps survived just fine, but it is a bit worrisome when a new product arrives in a underwhelming package."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Rhys
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pump Received Was Damaged
My plumber opened the box to install the N53 and LevelGuard switch only to find that 1) the pump handle had fallen off the pump because it had somehow spread, and 2) the power cord was severed almost all the way through. We tightened the handle to the pump using a C clamp. The cord cut about a foot from the pump, so the plumber offered to re-wire it after removing the cover, which added a half hour of time to his labor charge. I didn't want to have to have him come back a different time and... more
Pros: Quiet, Price, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Damaged
Rhys Recommends This Zoeller Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Rhys,
We're apologize for the condition in which you received your pump. It is advised that you open your purchase as soon as you receive it, so if there's any issues, it can be resolved quickly. If you have any issues, please don't hesitate to contact us.
more
Was this review helpful?
10
David A.
Sanborn, NY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/3/13
REVIEWED
NOV.
26
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump And Easy To Order
Thank you to all who did reviews prior to me, it made me much more educated on making the right choice. The Zoeller N53(no switch) with the Level Guard is the way to go. Easy to install and runs perfectly as well as super quiet. So far 3 people have taken pictures and will be moving to this combo.
Pros: Quiet, Durable, Price, Easy To Use
David Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Reginald S.
Las Vegas, NV
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/10/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
12
2013
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Needs Some Tweeking
The pump worked well however, the float valve failed to "float." Consequently, the pump never "kicked in" resoluting in MORE flood damage to the basement. Once I took a clothes hangar and pulled up on the float valve the pump worked with no problems.
Pros: Quiet, Easy To Use, Light Weight, Easy To Store
Cons: Unreliable
Reginald Recommends This Zoeller Product
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Reginald,
Like any piece of mechanical equipment, a float switch can have issues from time to time. We always suggest testing the pump for a few cycles you install it. This should minimize any issues before a failure occurs. If you continue to have any issues, don't hesitate to give us a call.
more
Reginald's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
5/5
"If I can resolve this issue since both items work together, I may change my opinion. Currently, this is a wait and see."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Kevin
REVIEWED
MAY.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sump Switch Fix
After experiencing failures in both pressure and tethered type switches I was willing to try out this electronic type. Device acts as both a sump pump switch and an alarm. This is less expensive option since I previously paid for both of these separate devices in the past. Very easy to install. What is great about this product is you can adjust the time perfectly so that is custom made to your sump basin.
Was this review helpful?
10
Bill M.
St. Marie, MT
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/13/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
19
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Pump
Good quality pump and it's made in the USA!
Was this review helpful?
10
Brian
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/9/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
01
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Zoeller N53
I previously had an M53 with a built in float switch. I liked it, and It lasted about 8 years before the float switch began to fail. I decided to separate the float switch and pump this time around. I'm using a vertical float switch with this pump and I have more control over the water level before the pump turns on. So far, so good. The pump is just loud enough to hear upstairs, so I know it's working and how often it goes off, but is quieter than some I've heard. The shipping was fast... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Donald
Middletown, OH
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/2/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
24
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Stroy
My OEM pump switch failed. I could not create a work-around, so I decided to purchase a new one. I used the internet to find you.
Was this review helpful?
10
Dwight G.
Pleasent Hill, OH
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/31/15
REVIEWED
AUG.
22
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Better Packaging
A second layer of cardboard inside the shipping box might have kept the pump from rubbing through the box and scratching some paint off. I thought about calling to see if you have small bottles of touch up paint?

I was a little disappointed to learn of the plastic feet instead of a cast housing. I am going keep this pump at this time. Thank you for asking.
Dwight Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Mike
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/5/15
REVIEWED
JUN.
08
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Hope It Lasts - But Extremely Noisy
I read one other review saying the pump was extremely noisy. Compared to my old one it is probably 2-3 times as loud. You can hear it from any room upstairs. Otherwise seems like a nice unit.
Mike Does Not Recommend This Product
Was this review helpful?
00
David M.
Escalon, CA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/13/15
REVIEWED
APR.
21
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Pump
A little misleading. It has a plastic impeller and a plastic housing for the impeller. Just wondering how long it will last.
David Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Jeffrey K.
Dundas, MN
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/10/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
A Great Pump
I've used these pumps in the past and they have always lasted many years. The only problem was that the M53 has a float switch and it usually failed after about 2 years. I bypassed it and used a tethered switch.

This time I bought an N53 with no switch. I think along with the tethered switch this is going to work out well. These pumps usually last about 8-10 years pumping effluent. I also have one in my sump pit. With all the rain, that one has been running a lot this year. No problem.
Pros: Durable, I'd Buy It Again, Reliable, High Quality
Jeffrey Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Lo. M
Ninety Six, SC
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/13/13
REVIEWED
SEP.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Arrived Rapidly - Installed It Has Been Working Since
The only thing I would mention, is that the bottom of the shipping box needed a little more cardboard, it was almost coming out of the bottom, when it arrived. However it worked fine, so all is well
Pros: Reliable, Price, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again
Lo. Recommends This Zoeller Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Thomas H.
Brooklyn, MD
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/16/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
29
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Learned My Lesson About Quality!
I had a H*** D**** Flotec sump in my basement. When we got hit with the rains this Spring/Summer, the sump failed because the cheap (5 cent) screw that held the tether switch to the sump pump had rusted, and the float never pivoted up when the sump filled up, it just floated up sideways, and the water just overflowed into the basement. I replaced it with this well made Zoeller pump. It's built like a tank, and quiet. (I also replaced the flow valve with a Zoeller valve). For a switch I... more
Pros: Durable, Quiet, Reliable, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: None From Me
Thomas Recommends This Zoeller Product
Thomas Would Recommend Sump Pumps Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"I'm usually critical about dealing with vendors on the Web. I must say that Sump Pumps Direct was a breath of fresh air. Very professional & customer service was superb.."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Douglas B.
Grand Rapids, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/16/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
08
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fits The Situation
I had installed a Wayne that I had purchased from HD. It was noisy and had a float switch. I didn't want to risk the switch going bad (several feedbacks reported this) so I bought the Zoeller and matched it with a Level Guard electronic switch. This is the perfect setup. The pump has longer cycles and is quiet.
Pros: Durable, Quiet, Price, Reliable
Douglas Recommends This Zoeller Product
Douglas Would Recommend Sump Pumps Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Received the pump very soon after ordering."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
John P.
Dallas, TX
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/13/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
05
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Replaced Bigger Pump In Basement Sump
First of all its hard to find anyone who knows what a basement is in Dallas. I dug and built mine myself under my 1923 built house over a 2 year period. I have a very understanding wife. We learned about the water table here by trail and error.
This Zoeller is the 3rd pump to go into the sump. The first pump purchased at a big box store ate a lot of grit and died of corrosion. The second one hasn't died yet but I opened it up and resealed it because of corrosion and the float switch... more
Was this review helpful?
00
Linda
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/11/13
REVIEWED
MAY.
03
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Zoeller Sump Pump
So quiet you can't even hear it! I was standing in the laundry room where the sump pump is located and didn't even realize it had gone off until I heard the water in the discharge pipe. We had just had over 5 inches of rain and the old one was going off constantly and we heard it each and every time. No more! :)
Was this review helpful?
00
Carlos
Lebanon, OH
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/2/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfied Customer
The pump works excellent and is very quiet. The switch is working great, too. I was amazed how quickly the package arrived it arrived two days after I ordered it. Rain was forecast for our area, so I was glad to get the pump quickly.
Was this review helpful?
00
Tim
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/19/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
08
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quiet And Fast
I needed a replacement for my old pedestal sump system, and really liked the Zoeller models, but had seen a fair amount of negative feedback concerning the units with the built-in float switches.

After some research and great information from Jim at Sump Pumps Direct, I settled on the Zoeller N53 "switch-less" pump coupled with the Basement Watchdog BWC1 float switch and controller.

It's been three months now and I really don't think I could be happier. If the switch does fail,... more
Was this review helpful?
00
John
Storm Lake, IA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/18/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
09
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Eighteen Years
My last pump lasted eighteen years before the switch stuck. The Zoller appears to be constructed much heavier and I like the idea of an electronic switch. Ask me again in eighteen years.
Was this review helpful?
00
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials