Your Cart @ Sump Pumps Direct
New Customers
Returning Customers
   Search
Priority Shipments @ Sump Pumps Direct View All In-Stock Pumps View Transit Times
< Back to Product

iON Products BA50SPI Primary Sump Pumps Reviews & Ratings

Share This Product
Plus 1 This Product
Tweet This Product
Pin It!
StoreShippingPriceShop
 
In-Stock /
Free Shipping
$269.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
 
$269.99
No Sales Tax* (Except IL)
Visit Site
iON Products BA-50M Reviews
Overall Rating
Features
5/5
Quality
5/5
Performance
5/5
Value
5/5
Overall
4.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 54.9 out of 5
Pros
Quiet (15)
High Quality (13)
I'd Buy It Again (10)
Fast (6)
Price (5)
Cons
Expensive (1)
Float Switch Should Have... (1)
Bad Instructions (1)
There Was A Switch Failu... (1)
Float Hangs Up (1)
94% of respondents would recommend this product to a friend
59 Reviews  Sort by 
 
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Sump Pump Expert

Product Expert
Total Reviews
30 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
1281 Helpful Votes
Sump Pumps Direct Recommended

If youíre looking for a heavy-duty pump, choose a iON. These pumps were originally sold only by plumbers, contractors and plumbing distributors. Now you have the opportunity to buy what the professionals do.

These pumps are built to last, bottom line. With a volute and motor housing made of cast iron and stainless steel, they will provide years of reliable operation. They also use a cast iron impeller which extends the life of the pump even longer.

iON pumps use high efficiency motors... more
Jim Recommends This Model
Was this review helpful?
7311
James N.
Glen Rock, PA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/23/14
Total Helpful Votes
17 Helpful Votes
Most Helpful Positive Review
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Review Of Ion Stormpro Ba-50m From Sump Pumps Direct
The Ion StormPro BA-50M sump pump. I believe this is the best pump for the money. It is 1/2 H.P. but runs at only 5.8 amps. It uses less electric but pumps more water then my old pump!
Pros: Durable, Exceeded Expectations, Reliable, High Quality
James Recommends This iON Products Product
James's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"My Ion StormPro BA-50M sump pump arrived quickly in perfect condition. Best Pump, Best Price and FREE Shipping!"
 more
Was this review helpful?
172
Tony S.
Bettendorf, IA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/24/16
REVIEWED
APR.
19
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quietest Sump Pump Ever
After YEARS of listening to our sump pump kick on, hum loudly and slamming closed, I went searching for the ultimate quietest sump pump ever and I found it in this Ion sump pump! The add on of the quiet check valve was a perfect purchase to round out the quality satisfaction I received with my purchase! I will never buy another sump pump brand ever again! This sump pump is the bomb!!
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Exceeded Expectations
Tony Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Jeffrey T.
Lemont, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/13/15
REVIEWED
MAR.
06
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Happy With Purchase
Had a failed pump in new house - needed a reliable pump with a adjustable float (high water table) - installation was easy, set float to desired level and good to go. UNIT is quieter that previous model, i can still hear it hum, it sits directly below corner where my t.v. is located upstairs, but not LOUD.

Had a lot of rain last spring, 2015, and pump worked great. Like i said, i sit on a high water table - so even with float adjusted high the pump still is going on every 60-70 minutes ... more
Jeffrey Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Patrick
Grand Blanc, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/18/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
I replaced my sump pump with the Ion pump. It is fast, quiet, and so far reliable.
I liked it so well I bought on for my daughters home.
Patrick Recommends This iON Products Product
Patrick's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Pump was shipped early to the promised date."
 more
Was this review helpful?
10
Ted H.
Saint Michael, MN
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/24/16
REVIEWED
JUN.
16
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It's My Back Up
The sump pump I have now has been pumping for 16 years. No gutters. I shopped a lot finally settled on your pump. It's waiting for it's time.
Ted Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Charles W.
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/15/16
REVIEWED
APR.
25
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Service
Very fast delivery and customer service hassle free.
Charles Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael D.
Acushnet, MA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/27/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
11
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
I replaced a 1/3 HP sump pump at my daughters house with this 1/2 HP iOn pump. This pump is really quiet and moves a lot of water, it is also built really solid. I would recommend this pump.
Michael Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Michael D.
Bellevue, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/17/15
REVIEWED
JAN.
09
2016
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Satisfied
Easy installation extremely well made prompted delivery.
Michael Recommends This iON Products Product
Michael's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Satisfied experience."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Patrick O.
Grand Blanc, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/18/15
Total Reviews
2 Reviews
REVIEWED
SEP.
30
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
I replaced my sump pump with the Ion pump. It is fast, quiet, and so far reliable.
I liked it so well I bought on for my daughters home.
Patrick Recommends This iON Products Product
Patrick's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Pump was shipped early to the promised date."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Ryan
Sayville, NY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/21/16
REVIEWED
JUL.
18
2016
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Float Switch Hang Up
Bought this pump in March and on multiple occasions the float switch has 'hung up' causing the pump to run without any water in the basin. These hang ups are occurring more frequently now causing me to access the crawl space through a hatch in the deck. When the pump is running it is quite and effective however, these frequent trips into the crawl space are becoming more and more of a nuisance.
Was this review helpful?
01
Walt
Alexandria, VA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/12/11
Total Reviews
3 Reviews
Total Helpful Votes
18 Helpful Votes
REVIEWED
NOV.
13
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Good Product/bad Advice
The sump pump is exceptionally quiet and efficient. The cover could have had more holes or at least punch outs for the auxiliary pump.The basin came without holes pre-drilled and had no instructions as to the placement. I wrote an e-mail to the so-called experts at Sump Pumps Direct inquiring where to place the holes. I received back the advice to check online, that there were many places that gave this advice. After some searching I found one place with advice on placement, but was very... more
View Image
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Walt,
While we would like to give as much advice as possible about installing sump/sewage basins, it is very difficult because of the complexity of the install. Installing these basins (which normally include a french drain or drain tile system for maximum water removal) is on the far end of a "DIY" project. Installing a basin incorrectly can cause serious foundation or structural damage to your home. If you're unfamiliar with the installation process, it's always best to contact a licensed plumber.
more
Was this review helpful?
135
Mike
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/5/13
REVIEWED
MAR.
22
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, Very Happy
I bought this pump as a replacement pump a couple months ago. It is in an outside, underground pit, and pumps water via 2" PVC pipe over an embankment about 5 feet vertical and 60 feet horizontal. What sold me, apart from some good reviews, was the built in screen that can keep debris out of the pipes. It has proved perfectly reliable. Powerful enough to keep up with the amount of groundwater flowing in.

If I had to pick a CON, I would like greater travel in the float switch, as it... more
Was this review helpful?
120
Mark
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/28/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
30
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
It Is A Workhorse
Hurricane Sandy was the first real test of my StormPro BA-50M. . . a great pump.

My basement has flooded twice in the past two years since we bought the house. In both cases, we had 6+ inches of rain. The house had a history of flooding which resulted in several mods by the previous owner; including the installation of a second sump.

After our second flood (just a wet basement) I took a hard look at my pumps and other modifications. Both existing pumps were on the small side. I... more
Was this review helpful?
80
David
REVIEWED
MAR.
11
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Quiet
Outstanding Pump. Very easy to install, so quiet you hardly hear it working and expels a full sump pit of water in a blink of an eye. I installed 6 of these and each and everyone runs like a dream.
Was this review helpful?
81
Paul
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/4/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Very Pleased
Draining pool, basement floods, major driveway runoff etc... I have had several pumps, have returned several.
Finally happy --- This pump is a BEAST... solid, powerful, versatile, high quality. Very happy after several attempts.
Very pleased with pump and Sump Pumps Direct.
Was this review helpful?
60
Joe M.
Mystic, CT
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/6/14
REVIEWED
DEC.
08
2014
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5
Float Hang Up
I bought the pump because the ground water is brackish. Runs very quiet and smooth. But came home last week found basement flooded because the float hung up. Sloshed through the basement jiggled the pipe a bit and it immediately kicked on. Can't trust it any more.
Pros: Quiet
Cons: Low Quality, Float Hangs Up
Jim, the Sump Pump Expert
Product Expert
Joe,
I'm sorry to hear of the problem you experienced with your iON pump. I'll be contacting you to see if there's any way that I can assist you in resolving this issue and your feelings towards your confidence in the pump.
Sincerely,
Jim Owiecki
Sump Pumps Direct Product Expert
800-710-7499 X125
630-685-0025 - Direct
james@pedstores.com
more
Joe's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
4/5

Service
4/5

Shipping
4/5
"A sump pump that you can't rely on starting when it needs to is not OK"
 more
Was this review helpful?
50
Larry
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/24/12
REVIEWED
OCT.
16
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sump Pump
The pump is much more quiet than what I was used to. I just wish that the float could be extended longer so it won't run as often. I have a pit that is deeper than the float will go, otherwise so far it is working to my satisfaction.

I also took the time to change my piping from 1 1/2" to a full 2" since this is the output of the pump discharge. I did not want to restrict the pump in any way. I believe this will make it pump water more efficiently.

I don't mind paying the... more
Was this review helpful?
61
Lauren B.
Fort Lee, NJ
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/2/14
REVIEWED
OCT.
13
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Investment!
Despite massive waterproofing efforts, the corner of our basement would get wet during heavy rainstorms. It took us forever to realize that even though the sump pump was working, it couldn't keep up with a heavy flow.

On the advice of the salesperson at Sump Pumps Direct, we got a 1/2 hp iON pump. The difference has been absolutely fantastic! The pump is so quiet we don't know when it's running, and the basement has been completely dry ever since we installed it back in May.

An... more
Lauren Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Ann F.
Springboro, OH
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/22/13
REVIEWED
DEC.
25
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Flooded Basement
On October 6th the rains came down:) Heard the Sump pump working. But, found out pressure of inflow was so intense it popped the pipes. Plumber came said sump pump was fine but getting older. So, I researched online for a replacement. Sump Pump direct came up. I noted all the info then spoke with several friends and they were in agreement that this would be a great way to go. Very happy with the product and also considering a backup replacement in the future. Yes, I have 2 sump pumps!!! Lots... more
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Fast, I'd Buy It Again
Ann Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
40
Kevin S.
Sweetwater, NJ
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/11/13
REVIEWED
JUL.
02
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerful Stuff!
Probably more HP than I needed, but does the job well. Well-constructed. Instructions for installation were next to nothing-- meant for guys who've already done this many times before, i.e., plumbers. A step-by-step would have been helpful, especially a guide for setting the float switch-- it took a while to figure that out.
Pros: Durable, Quiet, Fast, High Quality
Kevin Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
40
William
Kankakee, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/3/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
26
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Compact-quiet-powerful
I fit two of these in an 18" pit. Adjusted the floats on the discharge pipes so one acts like a backup.... Works like a charm. Although we are in the grips of one of the worst dry spells in history.... when it rains.... it rains hard..... The pumps have kept up so far.
Was this review helpful?
40
Roger O.
Barrington, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/29/14
REVIEWED
MAR.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
2 Pumps
We have 2 pits with 1 pump primary and the other one to take care of over flow. We discontinued a 5 year old pump and replaced by my recent purchase. Currently we are using the new pump as primary and its working perfectly. Its quiet and pumps up 10ft without any problems. Very satisfied.
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Fast
Roger Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
30
Robert S.
Evansville, IN
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/24/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
14
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I ordered this because of a very high water table in this area. It is a Godzilla of sump pumps. I would purchase it again regardless of the switch problem which Jim took very quickly. Thanks!!
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Price
Cons: There Was A Switch Failure But Jim Replaced It Quickly
Robert Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
30
David R.
Oak Grove, MO
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/14/13
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Sump Pump
Easy to install, lightweight, and engineered well.
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Price, Exceeded Expectations
David Recommends This iON Products Product
David Would Recommend Sump Pumps Direct To A Friend
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great company who does what they say."
 more
Was this review helpful?
30
James C.
Lowell, IN
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/12/13
REVIEWED
APR.
04
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Stormpro 1/2 Hp Sump Pump
I live on a small lake and the water table is high, great for fresh water supply but bad if you're trying to pump out a sump. So adjustable float level is just what the doctor ordered. Other pump switches have locked settings so you ether have to raise the pump in the sump well or risk running the pump unnecessarily. First you have to find normal water table level then drop adjust float switch till pump starts then lock it down, Guys who have worked on carburetors will understand this.... more
Was this review helpful?
30
Corey
REVIEWED
FEB.
06
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Simple Upgrade
It was time to upgrade my sump pit and sump pump. All the items I bought from Sump Pumps Direct were not only good quality but easy to buy with all the information they provided for each item. I even had to call there tech support line for a question I had on installing the pump and the help I got was good.The person I spoke with was very helpful and very knowledgeable on what I had purchased. If I need anything in the future for water control, I will buy it from SumpPumpsDirect.com
Was this review helpful?
63
Randall
Adrian, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/15/11
REVIEWED
MAR.
25
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Powerful, Strong & Quiet
This pump is extremely powerful, strong and quiet. We are a very high water table and this pump keeps up with the incoming flow. You do not hear this pump when running this took a while to get adjusted to. Great pump, Wery solid.
Was this review helpful?
30
Gerrit
Hackensack, NJ
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/29/11
REVIEWED
DEC.
21
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
My Storm Pro
This thing is great! It's a beast, it emptied the pit in seconds. Thanks for the great service!
Was this review helpful?
30
Chris H.
Schaumburg, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/3/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Pump Upgrade
Replaced my 2 sump pumps after 15 yrs. These new pumps are awesome, very quiet and the adjustable float is great. It's separate from pump uses an ss band clamp around discharge pipe so if you ever need to change float its very easy. No need to mess with pump itself and wont get hung up like other floats. I paired them with Camis clear silent check valves. Should of did this years ago. Only had them a month now so can't comment on longevity but there stainless and cast iron so should last many... more
Chris Recommends This iON Products Product
Chris's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Great website, able to compare and research everything on 1 site."
 more
Was this review helpful?
20
Mauricio A.
Herndon, VA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/29/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
22
2015
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Qhite And Powerful
I replaced our sump pump since I had it for many more years I could remember and did not want to take any chances. I researched for months, tried one of the best reviewed and sold by the big box stores but was not happy with how loud it was so I returned it.

Finally I decided to spend the exra $$$ and tried the Storm Pro. So far, it has worked great. This thing is powerful and you can barely hear it when its working - perfect! I only had it for a month so I cannot comment on durability and... more
Pros: Quiet, I'd Buy It Again
Cons: Bad Instructions, Expensive
Mauricio Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Fred S.
Delevan, NY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/14/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
26
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Ion Sump Pump
When the pump came I installed it that week. I had a little trouble screwing the plastic nipple in taking the metal flange off seemed to help. With my basement being about 2 feet below the water table in the spring I pump a lot of water . The pump handles the load well. The adjustable vertical float works well and I was able adjust the pump to turn on at a higher level.
Fred Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
20
George L.
Matawan, NJ
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/13/15
REVIEWED
MAY.
05
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Quiet Pump
Purchased this pump to replace a noisy Little Giant. This pump is easy to install and is whisper quiet. Highly recommended.
George Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Tim Metoff
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/24/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
12
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I had bought a house not too long ago, and when spring came around, it was bad, I had so much rain pouring down, my original sump pump couldn't keep up and had some water in my basement. So I decided to buy a back up pump. My co-worker recommended this brand name so I bought it as a back up. This past spring wasn't bad, but I decided to use this pump as a primary. I was greatly impressed how quiet this was compared to the pump that came with my house, and greatly impressed how fast it was to... more
Pros: Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Fast
Tim Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
20
Pete G.
Plainfield, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/31/13
REVIEWED
JUN.
21
2013
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Backup
This is used as a backup to my primary. I love the float switch and the size of the pump. Two high output pumps fit nicely in my pit. I have this one attached to a transfer switch and power inverter with battery bank.
Pros: Features, High Quality, Size
Pete Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
31
T.g.
Lockport, NY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/27/12
REVIEWED
NOV.
17
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Nice Pump
Over the last 50 years, I have installed a number of sump pumps in my home. Out of the box, the BA-50M looked like a nice quality pump- hefty, works like a beast. I only wish the rod on the pump switch was longer in order to produce a longer run time when pumping; but it's not a big deal as-is.

Given that the pump's egress fixture is 2", I had to re-work the existing piping with a reducer to 1.5" then another to 1.25" to work with the unchangeable aspects of my home's set up.... more
Was this review helpful?
42
Debbie S.
Crystal Lake, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/4/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
26
2012
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Installation Not As Easy As I Told My Husband It Would Be
So, one day our sump pump started making a weird noise. As it was in the middle of this summer's drought, I thought "this can't be right". So, after looking at the big box stores and reading reviews, it appeared that all that was available in that setting, was crap.

Every single sump pump would get quite a few bad reviews, not lasting more than 2 years etc. So, I came to Sump Pumps Direct. After finding the Storm Pro, I ordered it and received it a few days later.

Now,... more
Was this review helpful?
31
Jeff
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 7/27/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
18
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
I bought the Storm Pro unit for a recent remodel/addition basement.

This pump is very quiet and robust. It is definitely a step above the box store brands and the quality is evident when you open the box.

I especially liked the separate float assembly to allow for custom level setting in the sump pit and to fit confined spaces.

My older basement area is due for a sump pump change with the Simer unit that is in there now. It is much louder than the Storm Pro. I will be using... more
Was this review helpful?
20
Gerald
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/3/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
01
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Sump Pump!
After I got flooded several times from sump pump float switch fails, I did a lot of research and find this great pump that has adjustable switch that can be replaced just as easy! Pump sound very powerful, but also quiet! Haven't use it a lot since installed. So far so Good! Delivery was great and fast! Order it on Monday- received it on Wednesday!
Was this review helpful?
20
Dan
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/9/15
REVIEWED
SEP.
07
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Except For One Thing......
I purchased this pump primarily for the float system. When it was time to install the pump, we noticed the "plastic" flange that connects the 2" discharge pipe to the pump cast iron housing was cracked and unusable. I called Sump Pumps Direct to see if this is a common problem with this particular model. They said that they have had no problems with the part I was describing.

I called the manufacturer and explained the situation. They too were puzzled. Within 4 days I had... more
Dan Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Pete I.
Royersford, PA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/1/15
REVIEWED
JUL.
13
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Peace Of Mind
First let me start by saying that your company was not only professional, but extremely helpful as well. Excellent service and knowledgeable staff. KUDOS!

The 1/2 hp Ion pump i purchased is impressive. Pumps extremely well, and is very quiet. I matched it up with the HC6000 switch and am very pleased with this set up. Has been in service for a couple months now with no problem.

It is however, the dry season here where I live and am anxious to see how this set up performs when the rains... more
Pros: Quiet, High Quality, Fast, Exceeded Expectations
Cons: Float Switch Should Have More Adjustability
Pete Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Mark D.
Tiburon, CA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/2/15
REVIEWED
APR.
23
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Lasts A Long Time
We have used this pump for over 5 years now in a salt water environment. It has been going strong with daily use. I just purchased another just in case this little guy ever stops working.
Mark Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Ernesto H.
Clarendon Hills, IL
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/29/14
REVIEWED
SEP.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Finally I Feel Prepared.
For the last two years I feared when it rained, my tenants would call me, and knew the reason. I finally purchased the ION 1/2 HP, thanks to the phone operators advice ( Robert ). My father and I installed it and tested out the sump pump which I also ordered the check valve.

I ran a water hose into the barrel and watched the water exit through the clear check valve without any issues my worries were behind me. I ran It for about half an hour and was very satisfied with the results. The... more
Pros: Quiet, Price, Easy To Use, Light Weight
Ernesto Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Tim
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/18/14
REVIEWED
JUN.
09
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
Very quite. I work near the sump and I can't really tell that it is working.
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, I'd Buy It Again
Tim Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Richard A.
Bergen, NY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/28/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
19
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Glad I Came Across This Product
Was in dire need of a new sump pump. Starting searching the Web when I came across Sump Pumps Direct. Once I started looking into products they offered I made a smart decision to purchase my pump. Couldn't be any happier. Hope it will hold up to it's standards, so far so good.
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Price, Reliable
Richard Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Thomas R.
Lancaster, OH
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 11/12/13
REVIEWED
JAN.
04
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Stormpro 1/2 Hp
Very pleased with the StormPro pump from sumppumpdirects.com. Arrived in a timely manner. Very happy with the feel of the quality (I just installed it a little over a month ago, so don't know the longevity yet).
Pros: High Quality, Quiet, Easy To Use, I'd Buy It Again
Thomas Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
10
Daniel R.
Nappanee, IN
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 5/27/12
REVIEWED
AUG.
01
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far, So Good
I installed this pump 2 months ago. I was very impressed with how quiet this pump runs.

I also like the range of adjustment of the float switch. Some of the other pumps on the site will run a lot more because the float is not adjustable. So far this pump is excellent in my opinion.

I hope it will last a long time- we will see.
Was this review helpful?
21
Dan
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/7/12
REVIEWED
JUL.
20
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Fantastic Pump
Have an outdoor sunken patio area and outdoor kitchen thats about 24" below grade that this pump drains into a dry well outside sunken area. Set pump into concrete catch basin that's 24" x 24" x 24". Catch basin fills up to about 16" with setting float switch set for that height.
Once water hits 16"....look out....pump kicks in and 10 seconds later it's down to 2". Just the pump that I needed. Works great!

Hoping that it lasts several years. Seems high... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Michael
Monroe, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 3/13/12
REVIEWED
MAR.
19
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Storm Pro Sump Pump
Ordered this sump pump and received it in 3 days. Very easy to install. Adjustable float is a plus. It is very quiet and sucks the water out fast. It is a very heavy duty pump compared to any other kind of pump I have had. I just hope it lasts a long time.
Was this review helpful?
10
Larry
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/31/11
REVIEWED
JAN.
21
2012
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Stormpro 1/3 Hp Sump Pump
The pump works great as expected. I really like the switch that mounts to the PVC pipe, so much more adjustability. Has only been in use for about a week so far so good.
Was this review helpful?
10
Greg
Port Huron, MI
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 12/6/11
REVIEWED
DEC.
19
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
So Far So Good
While my Rigid 1/2 HP submersible pump is still working, I decided to keep it as a spare pump. We have a high water table here in MI and this pump doesn't have any adjustment on the vertical float. I have removed and replaced one of the Rigid Pumps already as it lasted only 2 years. Didn't do my homework as I found out they are notorious for failing switches.

Did alot of research and I believe the StormPro is one of the best out there. The pump arrived in just a few days. I installed it and... more
Was this review helpful?
10
Ken
Pine Grove, PA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 8/16/11
REVIEWED
SEP.
07
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Sump Pump Review
I bought a BA-50m just before hurricane 2 weksks ago. Set up and it worked just great. I have 100 ft. of hose to discharge water and only 3ft. total lift. It pumps water better than anything I have had in the 47 years I lived here.

I would highly recommend this pump to anyone. I'm glad I got good advice from your service people. I hope we can get wrong discharge hoses resolved.
Was this review helpful?
10
Mat
Northport, NY
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 4/5/11
REVIEWED
APR.
27
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Functioned Well
Bought two sump pumps for two attached but separate cellars . We live 100 yards from Long Island Sound, in a 100 year old house with poured cellar walls& floor that had Locust Post Support columns, that have since been termite eaten and that have left "weep" holes in foundation floor . Posts have since been replaced by steel columns but "weep holes" left, as the slight seepage, at times of inordinate high tides and hurricanes, are the only times we receive water and the... more
Was this review helpful?
21
Jake D.
Fort Wayne, IN
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 2/21/14
REVIEWED
AUG.
27
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Awesome Pump
Installed this to replace my original cast iron 1/2HP unit the plumber installed and was a high quality pump, but over 14 years old and runs on a regular basis. The original would not keep up with heavy storms and the battery backup would often kick in as the sump pit would fill up. With the iON pump I have only had one event in the last two years that brought in more water that caused the backup to come on. I highly recommend the iON Storm Pro HP20308.
Jake Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Anne H.
Pittsburgh, PA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 1/4/15
REVIEWED
FEB.
16
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Highly Recommend
Replaced old pump with new ion and couldn't be happier. Does a perfect job quietly and efficiently. Perfect for my situation.
Anne Recommends This iON Products Product
Anne's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"Easy, just typed in what I was looking for and it showed me the best options. I picked the one that was highly recommended and I'm glad I did."
 more
Was this review helpful?
00
Jim C.
Hillsborough, NJ
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/3/11
REVIEWED
FEB.
09
2015
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Pump
This review is just for the pump, I've written a separate review about the switch that comes with it.
I've been using this pump for about 2 and a half years. It runs every 1-5 minutes depending upon the conditions. It's fast, quiet and extremely reliable. It's a little expensive but well worth it. Highly recommended.
Pros: Quiet, I'd Buy It Again, Fast, Reliable
Jim Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
00
George G.
Georgetown, IN
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 10/26/14
REVIEWED
NOV.
17
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Great Product
I would recommend this to a friend. Quiet and effective.
George Recommends This iON Products Product
Was this review helpful?
00
Francisco C.
Potomac, MD
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 6/23/14
REVIEWED
JUL.
15
2014
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Dependable Sump Pump
I have a 1-1/4" discharge sump pump, that due to the large volume of water burns very easily and have to replace,at least every 2 years. The 2" pump works effortlessly and I hope it will last forever. Nevertheless, the new 2" will be the primary and the second, old 11/4" pump remains as backup. Each pump has its own discharge.
Pros: High Quality, I'd Buy It Again, Price, Exceeded Expectations
Francisco Recommends This iON Products Product
Francisco's Experience With Sump Pumps Direct
Web Site
5/5

Service
5/5

Shipping
5/5
"It is very useful to have access to this website for information and the offering of products is more extensive than the regular hardware or plumbing stores. You have the opportunity to compare specifications and select what is best for your own situation."
 more
Was this review helpful?
33
M Holliday
Philadelphia, PA
Purchased from Sump Pumps Direct
Purchased 9/12/11
REVIEWED
OCT.
03
2011
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5
Everything I Thought It Would Be
Received my StormPro sump pump as promised. It was easy to install and worked as I expected. My only suggestion is for those who buy this pump is to make sure you make your hole wide enough to allow the float to move freely. Also, if you use a coupler or reducer near the float, make sure the float has room to move freely. Other than those suggestions, there is nothing I can say about the pump except I made the right choice with StormPro.
Was this review helpful?
11
Sign Up
Receive Weekly How-To Tips & Specials